Monday Feels: A Bit of a Confession

You guys…what a weekend.  I think the older I get, the more I prefer to chill.  Even the thought of being around so many people at a Friday night event had me reconsidering living in a shell.  Nope!  I’ll take a day at the pool with the kids, and a quiet rest of the weekend instead.

Don’t get me wrong…I do leave my house!  It’s just that I am an introvert by nature, and home is where I find comfort and where I recharge.  Now that I’ve matured and moved past the “party-all-night” stage, I don’t want energy to be sucked from me when it’s unnecessary. I mean, kids do that by nature already. 🙂 

Another thing…

I don’t hate Mondays.  How’s that for you?!

I used to think “Great, it’s Monday, it’s automatically going to suck.”  Where is the logic in that? Unless every Monday, I was forced to attend a big event of some sort with tons of people, it really isn’t going to suck.

 
My rationale for disliking Mondays has dropped over the past 5 years.  I really just dislike that it’s the end of the weekend and The Man has to go back to work. 
 
We enjoy our weekends together, our time spent doing nothing spectacular.  As a family we also have a lot of fun NOT being busy socialites drifting from gathering to gathering.  That, and we live pretty far from the life I would be experiencing as a military wife.  I know I complain about our commute to pretty much anywhere, but there are several reasons to be happy about this.  One is that I am a homebody.  I do enjoy getting out of my comfy sweats and t-shirts to socialize and be around other adults every once in a while.  But I’m also expending a LOT of energy on the socializing bit.  It literally drains me, and I feel hungover for two days.   And two – most days I prefer to do my own thing in the somewhat quiet of my home.  Oddly, I am at peace here with all the noise and mess. 

So when we have lots of time to soak up with just our family, it’s actually quite nice.  There are things we take care of like grocery shopping, meal prep, and loads of laundry.   But there’s not much more adulting than that.  I feel prepared for the week.  Rested and ready to tackle some new goals. 
 
While Big D is away, there are plenty of ways to keep my spirits up.  For one, I’m a mom.  And a busy one at that.  There are mouths to feed, hands to wash, Legos to slide out of the way so I don’t catch a slip and fall.  I get creative, too.  I’ll dance while I cook.  Dance while I put the plates on the table.  Dance while I dance.  Well, I suppose that’s not too creative.  Plenty of calories to be burned though!

Stay-at-home life is hard.   Even more so when your husband is in the military.   The weekends seem even shorter than what I remembered when I worked outside of the home.  But you know what?  Life is what you make of it.  Be negative and you will see all the unpretty negatives.  Stay positive and you’ll see all the things you should be grateful for.  

To help, find something you’re passionate about.  

I am an entrepreneur.  I blog, obviously, and I run my own on-line health and fitness business.  Imagine throwing my hands up and saying “That’s it, I’m done.  It’s getting tough, I’m outta here.”  I can’t.  That would be a shame, don’t you think?  Because things do get hard as an entrepreneur, and someone who is just trying to make a living.  It’s worth fighting through the difficult stuff. 
 

Seriously though, things cannot go crumbling into ruins when life gets difficult.  This is the life I chose.  The good news: I know this won’t last forever.  I’m focusing on what I can do for right now:  Take care of our babies, and our home.  Make things as pleasant as possible.  Soak up each day.  I refuse to move in and out of each day focusing on the future, and forgetting to live in the present.  When you have kids, each moment should be lived, because those are the stories that are going to be retold when they are adults sitting at the table for birthdays and holidays.

See yourself through the difficult, trying times by focusing on the small things –  smiles, laughter, hugs, messes.   Think of each Monday as a clean slate.  And have an amazing start to the week!
Gain more out of life.  Make more memories.  Be happy.

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

4 thoughts on “Monday Feels: A Bit of a Confession

  1. Happy Monday, Dee! Good for you for trying to have a positive outlooks! Staying home is tough. Just today – I made a list of new activities we can do for free with the little once it starts to cool down a little this fall!

    Like

    1. Hi! It has taken me forever to reply to your comment. I’ve recently moved over to WordPress! I just want to thank you for reading. I think it’s such a great idea to make a list of activities to do. I should do that for each season. Hope you have a great day!

      Like

  2. I love your positivity. You and I are quite similar. I use to love partying and going out, but now I’m all about a nice chill. And if we’re going out, let it just be us.
    I’m trying to fix that this year, I should totally make some grownup friends and have those things I see on social media… girls’ night… 😀
    Military wife life is NO JOKE. I’ve been there.
    Sending you love!
    XOXO

    Like

    1. THANK you! Oh I would love to have a…girls’ night! Haha! I haven’t had one in a while. I don’t mind though, since I’m such a homebody. If it weren’t for the kids, I’d probably be curled up on the couch every night reading, watching Netflix one of my favorite Youtubers. You are NOT kidding…Military life is no joke!

      Like

Leave a Reply

