Healthy Banana Coconut Bread

Of course I was winging it in the kitchen when I created this aaaaah-mazing bread. The original recipe was lost in the midst of a tornado that I call “3 little ones.” I have been meaning to type it up, so one day I took it out of my recipe binder and added it to my To Do binder. Then I procrastinated. Then……it disappeared. And my bananas were there, lonely and waiting to be used. So ready to go.
Ever since I started decluttering the house earlier this year, getting rid of a TON of baking supplies, I’ve been clinging to my two bread loaf pans. And, baking season IS upon us! I vowed to bake a healthier version of banana bread. So like, healthy on a Level 3. The first one from the recipe was with vegetable oil. They gave an alternative recipe using apple sauce and a little less vegetable oil. I adapted it even further, and replaced the vegetable oil with coconut oil. Winning!
Wait, that would mean THIS recipe is actually healthy on a Level 4. Because it’s even MORE adapted. I’m so cool I can’t even handle myself. And my math skills pretty much stink.  Moving on!
Here is the recipe for you:
3 super ripe bananas
1 1/2 C flour
1/2 C coconut flour
1 t baking soda
1 t baking powder
Pinch of salt (I used kosher)
1 t vanilla extract
1 t coconut extract
1/2 C unsweetened apple sauce
2 eggs
1/2 C brown sugar
1/2 C water
1/4 C coconut oil
1/4 C shredded coconut, unsweetened
Preheat oven for 350 degrees. Grease bread pan with coconut oil spray, or coconut oil. Mix flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt in medium bowl. In a second bowl, combine brown sugar, extracts, apple sauce, and water. Mix in eggs until just combined. Fold in mashed bananas, then shredded coconut.
Gradually add flour mixture to wet ingredients mixing until combined, about a 1/2 cup at a time. Lastly, add the coconut oil while mixing. Put in the oven for 50-60 min. Check center for doneness.
When done, place bread pan on a cooling rack for 5 min. Then turn it to one side and firmly tap to loosen. You can also use a rubber spatula to gently run along the inside between the bread and the pan. Repeat on opposite side. This loosens up the bread so that you can take it out of the pan to cool it. Very important so it doesn’t continue to bake in the pan.
Note: This will not be nearly as sweet as original banana bread. There is a significant decrease in the amount of sugar I used for this recipe. I was aiming for a healthier version on a Level 4, remember? So if it is not to your liking, feel free to tweak the amount of sugar you add, or maybe even try a different type of sugar!
*Tips*
-use the apple sauce that comes in cups! They are 4 oz, which is….drum roll…1/2 a cup!
-coconut flour is VERY absorbent. This recipe called for either more liquid or more eggs. I will one day attempt a full coconut flour banana bread version, but for today I tried both adding liquids and more eggs compares to its adapted version. (Level 3)
-breakdown for coconut to flour ratio is 1/2 C coconut flour to 3/4 other flour (gluten-free or white/wheat) OR you can use 4 eggs per 1 C of coconut flour
If you do tweak this recipe, make sure you come back and let me know what you did and how amazing it turned out. I’d love to hear all about it!
Leave a Reply

