Pan-Fried Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Pizza is a staple in this house every week.  You know, every Friday is movie night here.  We can’t start it without a box of cheesy, greasy pizza, right?

Wrong.  

For me at least.  I can’t quite get the kids to convert to a cleaner-foods meal plan, but at least I will be sticking to it.

So.  To avoid missing out on pizza night, I’ve made awesome pizzas in the past from scratch.  We’re talking dough, sauce, sometimes the veggies.  Though I am not gardening much this year.  (so sad)

Pan-Fried Cauliflower Pizza Crust


Last week, I tried making a cauliflower crust from an idea I got on Pinterest.  Of course.  It was a cheese crust, cooked in a frying pan with the toppings.  I posted it on my Facebook feed and wrote something along the lines of it becoming a new challenge for me to make it healthy.

Pan-Fried Cauliflower Pizza Crust

 Guess what?  I succeeded. It was the bomb.

 Give it a try and see what you think.

Printable Version

Ingredients
1/2 head of cauliflower

2 egg whites

1 tsp seasonings of choice

1 tsp garlic
1 crank of pink Himalayan salt (or choice)
Toppings
1 1/2 tbsp sauce
2 tbsp cottage cheese
Choice toppings
Pan-Fried Cauliflower Pizza Crust

(Not pictured) Place cauliflower in food processor and blend until fine.

Spread on a baking sheet lined with 2 layers of paper towels.

Top with additional paper towel layers or kitchen towels, squeeze out the excess water (very important).  I even let it sit for a few hours.

1.  Mix together the eggs, and seasonings in a bowl or mixer. 

Heat your frying pan on medium-high.  Spray/drizzle with choice of oil (I have used avocado and olive)

2.  Place a small scoop of cauliflower mixture into the pan and flatten gently to form a personal-sized pizza, about 1/4″ thick.  Let it sit for about 5 minutes.  

3.  It may bubble up in the middle and that is okay.  Just leave it be.

4.  Using a spatula, gently lift the crust to check how the bottom is cooking.  It is nearly done when the top doesn’t look so raw, and the bottom is browning.  *no need to flip*
The tricky part:
Gently slide the crust off of the pan, and onto a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper.  I’ve used both.
5.  Top each pizza with the 1 1/2 tbsp sauce and 2 tbsp of cottage cheese, and any other toppings you like.
6.  Broil on high for about 7 minutes, keeping an eye on it, long enough for the cheese to melt.


Pan-Fried Cauliflower Pizza Crust
I drizzled some balsamic vinegar on it afterwards.

Inspiration for this recipe came from a fellow rock-star foodie blogger whom I follow like she is a religion:

Broke & Bougie’s “Clean-Eating Cauliflower Crust Pizza”

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

Leave a Reply

