Dinner Made Simple With Spaghetti Squash

Where are all of my spaghetti squash lovers???  Definitely raising my hand here.  I get along very well with carbs from pasta and breads, but they aren’t always my true friends in the end. 


Spaghetti squash is a great alternative to pasta, and it does not taste like a vegetable!  At all!  But don’t take my word for it; you must try it for yourself.  If you haven’t incorporated spaghetti squash into your weekly meal plans, you seriously should. 

Below, I’m sharing my way of preparing spaghetti squash, as well as a couple of recipes from Hungry Girl.  
  
1.  Preheat oven to 350.
2.  Place spaghetti squash in a 9×13 casserole dish with about 1 inch of water on the bottom. (I really believe this helps prevent scorching)
3.  After 30 minutes (depending on your oven), take the spaghetti squash out.  Halve the squash length-wise, and let it cool enough to be able to handle.

Scoop out the seeds and stringy innards, for lack of a better word.  Then take a fork and work the inside of the squash loose.  It’ll come apart in strands, just like spaghetti.  After taking a fork to the squash, this is where some people stop and just eat it with sauce.  It is perfectly good this way!

Since I was a gourmet chef in another lifetime like to pretend I’m a gourmet chef in the kitchen, I take an extra 10 minutes to saute my garlic and onions and whatever other veggies and/or meat that I have.  Then, at the last minute I throw in my spaghetti squash and crank up the heat in the pan just to combine the flavors and bring everything to the same temp.  Grab your favorite pasta sauce and dinner is done.  Voila!

The Hungry Girl has some great spaghetti squash recipes that she shared on her blog, complete with nutrition facts and printable recipes.  She’s awesome like that.

Note: I learned today that I have been skipping a very important step in preparing spaghetti squash: straining and blotting.  This would be the reason for the excess liquid on my plate.  Trial by error, right?  I never minded it before, but I’m definitely not going to make this mistake next time.  Blot your squash!

There are a few minor variations to making this dish but it is a really simple one to prepare.   If you’re looking to curb those carb cravings and still have your spaghetti too, this is the way to go.   

Now go get your squash on and consider it an easy healthy dinner night! 

***Update:  I strained!  It’s totally worth the extra step.

Spaghetti Squash Dinner


 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

2 thoughts on “Dinner Made Simple With Spaghetti Squash

  1. It is WAY softer. I used to do that, but I broke one knife (a cheapo) and my cuts were always crooked. I always had a hard time with this, til someone gave me the idea to bake it first then cut it. I did make spaghetti squash two days ago, without water, for the same amount of time in the oven – did not turn out the same. Water works!

    You're welcome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

