Everybody Is Different, Every Body Is Different.

The gym missed me yesterday and the day before, but I had to say “Look, gym, I need a couple of rest days.  It’s me, not you”

Actually, I missed the gym.  Though after talking to Big D about workouts and meal-planning, I had plenty of time to reflect on some key ideas during my rest.

My fitness journey, very much like my blogging journey, has been two months (give or take) of learning. If there is one piece of knowledge I gained thus far that I could pass on to any of you, I would say “Everybody is different. Every body is different.”  It’s like a mantra, you must say it often.

Tweet: People who have joined the fitness train are all on their way to their own destinations with all sorts of baggage in tow.People who have embarked on the fitness train are all on their way to different destinations with all sorts of baggage in tow.

Some people face obstacles with their bodies that are apparent to an outsider, while others have internal battles going on. From being overweight, to serious diet modification, to working around diseases like celiac, they all need different things. Different workouts with different intensities. Different diets and different meal plans.

Sometimes I too easily get caught up in comparing my body to the next person’s body. The impatient me wants it and I want it now!  (This is where that mantra comes into play.)  I have learned that like most things, building my ideal body will take time, and effort, and dedication. There won’t be an overnight express for these baby muscles. Rome wasn’t built in a day, as they say.  And I get it now.

These two days of rest have been really good for me. When I can’t work out in the gym, I’m busy flexing my mind, researching and applying techniques in the kitchen, and with weight in my hands.

One should never cease to learn, especially with how often change occurs.
 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

6 thoughts on “Everybody Is Different, Every Body Is Different.

  1. Awesome post Dee! I love hearing about your fitness journey. I get caught up in the comparing my body thing too… then I correct myself and tell myself that's NOT okay!

    Thanks for sharing!

    By the way, I'm not sure if you saw it, but you were my 6:00 Shout-Out on my Deliberate Mom facebook page last night… because, well, you're awesome!
    xoxo

    Like

  2. Oh my! Thank you so much!!! I was considering starting a new blog just for fitness, but decided against it. It's because of readers like you and others who tell me I'm inspiring them. It warms my heart. I tell it like it is, and I know I'm not perfect. I do things a little differently because I have different obstacles in my path. Everyone has them. And I really try not to get caught up but it happens more times than I can admit to. Just gotta keep pushing!

    And thank you so much for the shout-out!!! I think I saw it, because I also follow you on my personal page. (The mobile FB Page manager doesn't show anything but your OWN page, which is silly) 🙂

    I hope you have an amazing week my lovely kind-hearted friend!

    Like

  3. Funny you said this, because just the other day before we made things “official” I was comparing my {lack of} six pack to yours, and wondering where I went wrong. What ever you do just omit my last IG post, today was a carb cheat day, and tomorrow I'm back on the wagon 😉
    Looking good, Mama!
    XOXO

    Like

  4. Hey!!! I'll have to go back and see what you posted. Heehee! It's good to take a step back and realize that everyone is different. I still have this problem. Like “Why can't my stomach look like THAT.” I should probably lay off of IG for a bit. (But I won't because I am obsessed.)

    You will get where you want to go, on that wagon. Just be the driver! 🙂

    Like

  5. Those little milestones mean the most too! It is rather obsessive, but in a good way. Every time I see those baby bi's wanting to come out, or my abs becoming more defined, I'm like “Oh yessss!!” and fist-pumping the whole day. It's better than most things in my life; it's my body. I only get one and I'm finally treating it right at 32 years of age.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

