Tray Jolie! Washi Tape & Mod Podge Makeover

I love it when I’m asked to do something crafty for someone.  It really gets me going, thinking “Wow, they really think I have talent!”

Haha!  

I told my best friend that I would fix up her plain wooden tray.  I was originally going to give this to her with some paint sprayed on it but, in the heat of the crafting hour, this washi tape/Mod Podge idea completely took over.  The usual manner of business, no big deal.

I was able to present this tray to her when we celebrated her graduation together, a few months ago.  The tray was used as surprising decor in basket.  I think she loved it!

 

What you need
Wooden tray (I believe this one is from Michaels)
Fun print-out (This is from the Graphics Fairy)
Spray paint
Mod Podge
Self-healing board
Scissors
Small paint brush
Exacto knife
Emory board

And of course your camera! 😀

After you have spray painted your tray with a few coats (drying between each) you want to cut your print-out to fit the inside of the tray.  I don’t know what the exact science is for doing this, but I started off by placing my print-out on the underside of the tray.  I made creases where the edges were, cut them off, and continued to cut down some of the edges until it was a perfect fit for the lining of the tray.

Now for the Mod Podge.

Mod Podge can be a little tricky, because you want to aim for the in between.  It can’t be too small of an amount or it will dry too quickly.  But it also can’t be too much, because it will be a mess, probably causing your paper to bubble up.  These were mistakes I’ve made in the past, and I’m still attempting to finesse my skills in this department.

I applied Mod-Podge in sections of three.  I painted the Mod Podge on the top of the paper width-wise.  Then attached the paper really well, smoothing it down.  Next, I did the middle in the same manner and then the bottom.  I worked the long way so my sections were shorter, using a rolling action.  To me, this is much easier than applying the Mod Podge all at once and attempting to place the paper down perfectly.  The Mod Podge may end up drying before you set it down.  Again, this has been my experience.  (Yes I learn a lot through trial-and-error.)

Allow the paper to dry, then apply Mod Podge on top to protect the paper.  I’m sure you could also use the Mod Podge sealant in a spray can, or maybe a shellac, especially if it will see a lot of action with keys and other sharp items.

And now for the fun part!

Have I ever mentioned that this was my first time using Mod Podge with washi tape?  I have yet to post about the wooden frame that I used washi tape to decorate, but I did not use Mod Podge.  Big mistake.  Washi tape, I learned, is not as sticky as your normal tape.  So you need to use an adhesive.

Anyway, I applied Mod Podge in sections again.  Top, middle, bottom.  In between applications, I pulled out more than enough washi tape to cover the area, and placed it on the surface where I just applied Mod Podge.  I left it to dry and worked my way around.

Once it’s dry, take your Exacto knife and carefully cut off the excess washi tape.

Using an emory board, go around the edges and sand down the rough cut areas.  If you’re a pro with your Exacto knife, then you don’t have to worry about this step. 🙂  Obviously, I cut it too quickly.
And, I could use a little finesse here too.

I will admit, I had the goofiest grin on my face when I got to this part.  The washi tape part was a success and actually fun.  I’m a nerd about Mod Podge.
 

It just had to be perfect. 🙂

Here she is!  My bestie has her Bachelor’s Degree!  I’m so very proud of her!

I took pictures as she went through her basket of goodies.  (Hmm, that goofy face on her crafty card looks familiar.)

Maybe by the time I graduate, she will learn how to use Mod Podge too.  She needn’t worry, she has a few years to practice.  😉

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

8 thoughts on “Tray Jolie! Washi Tape & Mod Podge Makeover

  1. Thank you Danavee! Washi tape is so much fun to use, depending on what you're doing with it. It is not very sticky, like Scotch tape, but the patterns are plentiful! For this project, I absolutely needed the additional adhesive to keep the tape down.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

