Modified Burpees Workout


If someone were to ask “Who loves burpees?” you would not see me raise my hand.

I do not like burpees.  Everyone has that one workout (or several) that they really dislike.  They cringe at the thought of doing it when it’s the day to put in some work.

For me, it would be burpees.  I’m sitting here sore from my shoulders down to my feet.  This workout nearly wiped me out yesterday.  I felt great afterwards, but the soreness hit me this morning when I did a sad roll out of bed.  I mean really.  It was sad. 

http://instagram.com/p/rAmN2mj3XM/
Modified Burpees

My history with burpees goes something like this:

  • I do a burpee. 
  • I curse under my breath about how much I loathe them.

And that’s pretty much how the entire set and all the rounds go.

When I went into this workout, my attitude was not a good one.  The monster of uncertainty was nagging at me, saying “I’m not sure if we can do this.”  So of course, being my own worst enemy, I said “Alright, I will only do 5 rounds.”

What a terrible attitude.  Am I right?

I told myself “If I can’t do this home workout today, what does that say about me a few weeks later when I’m in a gym again with weights?”  I had to prove to my monster of uncertainty (like that?  I borrowed it from a new friend on Instagram) that I was going to do this in its entirety.  Listening to that negative voice in my head was not going to do me any good. 

It did me no good in the past.  It won’t do any good today.  And definitely not tomorrow.

If I want to conquer anything on this journey, I have to start from within.  And that’s what I did.  And that is how I finished.

Modified Burpee
Plank
2 Push-ups
4 Knee-to-elbows
4 low hop squats

Do 10.  Then take a small break.  Then do 9, break, 8, break, et cetera.

Watch the video!  Follow @fitgirlvideos for inspiration!

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

7 thoughts on “Modified Burpees Workout

  1. I used to use the burpee time as my water break. Then a few years ago I did Insanity and decided to just suck it up and do the burpees – now I sort of really like them!!!
    I do like your burpee modification.

    Like

  2. I suppose you're right. I was watching a video the other day and someone said that you will eventually get faster and better at them. I suppose when you get better, the sucking part is not so bad. Like running. I start to enjoy it when I'm not feeling winded and tired after one block.

    Like

  3. So you would do burpees during your water breaks? What were you doing before breaks?! Haha! I first learned how to do a burpee through P90X. Oh I did not enjoy them and I felt so slow. I do feel slow now as well, but I think I could get used to it eventually. Everyone feels slow in the beginning, right?

    Oh and I wish I could take credit for this modification. I actually found her on Instagram. I followed that account for inspiration. It's the last thing I look at before I go to bed, in hopes of finding a workout and feeling inspired the next morning. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

