Sundays Are For…

Thanking the heavens that I made it through the week.


I’ve been consumed with emotions ranging from sadness to grief to anger and frustration and finally I’m at ease. It’s been a heck of a roller coaster. 

Source
With all that has been going on with the passing of our friend, I haven’t had much time to dwell on the other reason for my grief. 

My 11-year-old, M, has officially settled in at her dad’s  She decided to move up there with him, and last week I drove her. 


This and the news of our friend all happened on the same day, actually. As I drove her up there, I got the call about him having passed away.  


It has been quite an ordeal for everyone. For me, it’s cancelled out my routine. I haven’t seemed to care much for my own health this past week.  Workouts were going alright, up until Friday.  I haven’t lifted a thing since then.  Feeling a bit guilty about that.  I managed to maintain my diet, though some days I didn’t eat as much as I should have.

Any situation that is emotionally draining will kill my appetite.

Sadly, eating chocolates won’t cure it. Though I have enjoyed trying that in the past.


And now I will be taking leave from my routine for a few more days.

Our friend’s funeral is this Thursday down in Florida. I’m trying to make arrangements to attend, barring any obstacles preventing my mom from coming down to stay with the kids. 
“No two people grieve the same way, and what people need to understand is that no amount of time is going to change what we feel.  Our loss will be our loss forever.  Grieving never stops.  Yes, in time we may not express our feelings outwardly as much, but we still continue to grieve for our loved ones.  Until you are there personally, you will never understand it, so please try to be patient and accept us as we are. ~Nancy Ann

I found this quote below and thought to myself “This is absolutely true.”  Some people cry.  Others sit in silence with their thoughts.  Sometimes, surrounding themselves by loved ones eases the pain, lightens the burden.  And some people prefer to be alone.  

I previously wrote a post on our dear friend.  Through writing, I was able to grieve.  You can read it here, but I have disabled the comments for the family’s sake.   

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

2 thoughts on “Sundays Are For…

  1. It's good to hear that you're processing your grief in your own way. That's the best you can do, when you don't know what else to do! Keep your head up and continue to grieve how you need to. There's absolutely nothing wrong with that. I'll keep you and your family in my prayers!!

    Like

  2. Thank you Mionna. It feels different now, that we have all had a chance to say goodbye to him. Life goes on, but there's always going to be that vacancy. We are going to continue to say “Matty should be here…” It's still sad, very sad. But I know he would have been really proud and felt honored last Thursday at his funeral. Lots of love and support for the family, and the Marines did a knock-out job on the ceremony.

    Like

Leave a Reply

