To Be A Better Me

My feet hurt, by arms and legs are sore, and stretching my body is a heavenly feeling these days.  What have I gotten myself into?

Let’s back this story up a few years back to when I was fresh out of my freshman year of college.  I decided to join the Coast Guard.  Bootcamp was a terrifying thought.  I was never a runner, had practically no upper body strength…I was out of shape. So what I did was train my butt off for it.  It helped.  Bootcamp helped even more.  I saw abs by the end of those 8 grueling weeks!

Fast forward to 2 years ago, around this time.  I remember my mom taking pictures of us in the pool at a hotel we stayed at.  Looking back, I was in pretty awesome shape!  And quite proud, I might admit.

Today, I want that body back.  Why?  Because I can finally call it my body.  I’m no longer breastfeeding, or planning on getting knocked up (ever).  I’m cleared for working out.  I claimed my body back.  It is all mine.

This 32-year-old body is going to be turned into a well-oiled lean mean training machine.  Sounds ridiculous, I’ve been stalking people’s Instagram accounts and having fun with those hashtags.  (Don’t mind me)  These people have me on some ridiculous second-hand workout high.  I’ve got the fever!

I realize I won’t have the body I had back then.  Do you want to know why?

I plan on being better than that!

I am ready to make things happen.  Fitness is like a drug.  I remember watching my body change, gaining muscle, getting stronger.  It was encouraging and motivating to push myself a little harder each day, and see that I could go a little heavier, a little longer.  It is addicting. 

I will never have pushed this hard.  Trained this hard.  Cried this hard.  Motivated myself, and given my all in the gym or wherever I go.  It’ll be a struggle, yet one that I won’t regret.

Why am I telling you?

I want my readers to know that I have embarked on one of the most beneficial journeys in my life.  I’m all about this journey to a better stronger me.  I have not given up on my other loves, (cooking, crafting).  They have had their turn on my blog, and you may see those posts here and there.  It’s time for a new chapter and I’d love it if you might join me in becoming a better stronger you, or simply by leaving some encouraging words when the going just really sucks over here. 😉

I post a lot on Instagram, which you can find me over there on the right near the top.

I linked up here:

The Deliberate Mom

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

10 thoughts on “To Be A Better Me

  1. I'm so excited for you!!! I hired a trainer after two years of breastfeeding 'cuz, well ya know: I needed some “uplifting” kind of exercises. 🙂 Keep us informed – your journey will help to keep the rest of motivated!

    Like

  2. Dee, this is so awesome and I'm so excited for you!

    I really need to just on board too! I want my body “back” too. I'm 7 years your senior and I find it hard to fit everything into the day (working out included).

    You've inspired me here Dee! Thank you.

    Thanks for sharing (and for linking up to the #SHINEbloghop).

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Like

  3. Go girl! I'll be adding you to my reading list as I need a little motivation and I like the way you speak. I don't do much weight training, but I'm into biking, hiking, easy at-home workouts, and I really want to get into a little yoga. Here's to a better you. (stopping by from Shine Blog Hop)

    Like

  4. I'd love some uplifting exercises too! Oh, and how about the girls changing once you stop breast-feeding? It's bittersweet. I am pretty sure I've gone down a cup size.

    That's really awesome that you hired a trainer. I wish I could just get a partner to work out with here in this small town.

    Like

  5. This is a journey I won't forget. I can't wait to start routinely share my workouts and progress and all of that. Things have been a little off around here, and I'm pretty sure you know why. 😦 But I'm back! Didn't mean that my working out stopped either, through all of it.

    Thanks so much for the opportunity to share this post on your blog hop! I am over the moon with the feedback I've gotten over this post. If anything, I am more inspired and motivated!

    Like

  6. I'm so glad! I hope that my posts about this journey I'm on creates even a small spark of inspiration or motivation in you. And anyone else who reads. It's really amazing to read that inspiration was found here, on this post, from people who are all over. I'd love to have people like you and other readers near me, but I'll settle for the kind encouraging feedback in the online world. 😀

    Like

  7. Yay!!! It's a nice promise to make to yourself. It was the only one I could consider making. I love the feeling of being fit. And now that my body won't be fluctuating, through pregnancies, I'm really looking forward to seeing what my body can do when I push myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

