Spaghetti Asparagus Carbonara For Busy Days

We had such a busy day the other day.  Wonderfully busy.  I’m still on a vacation in Virginia.  Can I say that, or should I say a “mini-vacation” since I’m not really on a vacation but visiting a friend?  I mean, I’m still fulfilling my responsibilities: bathing children, cooking, cleaning, and going to bed fairly early (for the most part) and having fun-filled kid-friendly days.


My bespren Bernice and I love to cook.  More specifically, saving recipes and cooking for each other when we are visiting.  Since I am here at her house, interrupting her solitude and peace of mind (Haha!) I thought it would be really nice to make her this dish.

This recipe is from the “Every Day with Rachael Ray” magazine.  My mom and I saved this recipe several years ago, only cooking it once.  I started making this recipe again about a month ago.

I told Big D when I made it, and he made me promise to make it again soon for him.  The kids…well, they hardly like anything with even a hint of green.  I usually have to compromise and let them push the asparagus aside.  I, on the other hand, could eat this every day.  If only there were enough meal times in a day, because this “eat this every day” list is becoming rather lengthy.

Asparagus Carbonara
Printable Version

Ingredients:

2 large eggs

2/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 box of spaghetti noodles

bag of frozen asparagus

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 package of bacon

3 cloves garlic

1/4 C dry white wine

Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Take the bacon, separate the strips and lay them on a baking rack, placed on a baking sheet to catch the grease.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, til nearly crispy.  (Can do this ahead of time too)  Roughly chop the bacon.


Meanwhile, combine eggs and parmesan cheese in a large bowl.  Using a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the pasta until it is nearly al dente.  During the last minute of cooking, toss in the frozen asparagus.  Spoon out 1/2 cup of pasta water to save, and strain the rest of the pasta and broccoli.

Toss the hot pasta and asparagus with the egg and parmesan mixture.   Heat olive oil in a large skillet.  Take chopped bacon and cook until crisp.  Add the chopped garlic.  Pour in the white wine and cook until

reduced, about 1 minute.

Stir the bacon mixture into the pasta mixture, adding enough of the reserved water to moisten the noodles.  Season with salt and pepper.

Suggested variations:
I am a little heavy on the bacon for this dish.  Garlic too, of course. 🙂  Also, you can make this with broccoli.  

Hope you get a chance to enjoy!

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti Asparagus Carbonara For Busy Days

Leave a Reply

