Living In A Tiny House

Have you ever watched this show called “Tiny: A Story About Living Small?”

I found it on Netflix, a week or so ago.  I was intrigued by the title.

It’s a documentary about this young guy who wants to build his own home.  But it has to be small as he wants to be environmentally conscious.  In the documentary, other tiny house owners are interviewed about this guy’s endeavors.  It’s quite interesting!  They are trying to sway American values, saying bigger is not always better.

What is a tiny house?  Exactly what it sounds like.  A house built so extremely small.  We are talking 200 square feet, give or take.  Mostly take…

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT-E6K0YaRwL8EQIpRri0n3zWakathfhpJK0ZglG2D1k5_5YOZFEA
Source

There is no way I could continue living like I do if I had a tiny house.  They are SO cute, but they are very very compact.  There’s not a whole lot of room in there for a craft closet, for example.

http://www.thetinylife.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/Texas-Victorian-Tiny-House-stairs.jpg
Source

Think about it.  Could you survive in a tiny house?

http://www.tallmanstinyhouse.com/photos/tmth.jpg
Source

Today’s confession:  I want a tiny house!

Yes!  I would.  I think it would be so neat to build my own tiny house just like that guy.  It cost him $26,000 out of his own pocket.  It took him a whole year.  But he has a great little place to call home and he can say he built it himself.  The best part? No mortgage. 

What would ever make me even consider a tiny house?
http://tinytexashouses.com/main/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/TinyHouseInt03-1024x654.jpg
Source

I admit I may have gotten sucked into the perspective of these tiny-house owners.  (It happens often.  I have an ability to empathize, what can I say?)  There is nothing wrong with wanting to leave a much tinier carbon footprint, if any at all.  These homes are efficient.  Some run off of solar power.  They don’t take up much room.  Though I’m still trying to figure out how they do laundry… 

It’s pretty much illegal to have a building this tiny though, from what I gathered.  They build their homes on trailers.  It’s considered a temporary home this way, so they found a loophole.  Otherwise it would be illegal.

I asked Big D what he thought about the documentary.  I told him I want to build a tiny house.  He thought it would be cool.  But not for us to live in.  I said “Maybe I’ll build a tiny house for each of the kids and they can live out in the backyard!”

Wouldn’t that be nice?

I can see several benefits of living in a tiny home.

Family bonding.  Working on problems right away.  No playroom = no mess. (Wishful thinking) We would definitely keep the shoes outside of the house.  Become one with nature, using our surroundings as a living space.  (I can see a sitting area full of hammocks!)  We could live on the beach during the summer, and move somewhere warmer for the winter.  There would need to be some serious downsizing for everyone involved.  NO mortgage!

More money in my pockets.  All two of them. Haha! 

In a tiny home, I wouldn’t stock up on things we don’t need, like all of that Advil or KY jelly.  (Don’t judge, I got them for free through couponing!)

Our tiny home would be solar powered.  No need to rely on the electrical power grid, which means no scary utility bills.  Even if we did connect to electricity, it wouldn’t take much to power.  We would save a lot of money.

It would be snazzy, as long as there is room for my Kitchen Aid mixer and the Keurig!

Check out these links to learn more!
tinyhouseblog.com
Tumble Weed Houses

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

6 thoughts on “Living In A Tiny House

  1. I like those photos with a trailer attached:) …. it is fun, but I think I never able to fit all my art supplies in such a small space:) … or even fit my family there! sweet post Dee!
    xx, Lana
    lanasartstudio.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. I SAW THIS!! Once they were in the house I was like “aw this is nice and looks so cozy I could do this!” Then it showed them in the kitchen and I was like “nope!” But one of my favorite times was living in a tiny apartment because we could not have clutter. Like, literally could not have clutter anywhere or you couldn't walk. It was kind of peaceful!

    Like

  3. Peaceful is a great word to describe it. My life would be that much better without 75% of this crap. BUT, I am in no position to completely toss it all out of the window. I happen to enjoy my hobbies, and having more than one bathroom. Oh no…didn't think about the bathroom situation…. Haha! I hope you have a great Friday! I'm going to try a list of random thoughts one day soon. Your post seemed like so much fun to write.

    Like

  4. I've been obsessed with little homes for a few years now. I would love to do something like this when the kids are out of the house… although by that time I'll probably be in a senior's facility.

    It's tempting to do right now though… imagine the freedom of not having vary many possessions! A lot of the time when I see pictures of homes like these they are on sprawling beautiful land… I think the outdoors becomes part of your home/living space. It doesn't feel as confined when you have sprawling land around you.

    I'm curious about this documentary. I should see if it's available on Netflix in Canada.
    xoxo

    Like

  5. Nature as my back yard! I'd love that. You're so right. It would be less confining, with all of that land. Live outside the box! Haha! How beautiful would that be? If only I could convince my husband.

    I wonder if it would be available to you. I never thought about it not being available in Canada.

    Like

Leave a Reply

