Hump Day Confessions #23: Bruno Mars, Here We Come

I’m really meaning to ask if it is Thursday yet, because my bestest bespren is coming to visit.  To explain the weird spelling of “best friend,” we are both Asian.  Filipino, to be exact.  We just combined the two words and pronounced it like our mothers would.  The P’s are F’s and the F’s are P’s.  

Confused?  Watch this video “Boypren” from Happy Slip.  I think she is hilarious.  

The whole point of my bespren coming down on Thursday instead of the usual Friday is because my 11-year-old is “graduating” 5th grade.  We are going to watch her ceremony at school.  We are going to scream and shout and let it all out.  Maybe take her out on a fro-yo date afterwards for embarrassing her.

I’m kidding.

(A little sidenote: I think it’s sort of silly to have all of these graduations.  I did not graduate Kindergarten or the 5th grade or the 7th grade!)

Then this weekend, we are heading to Raleigh.  I have tickets to see Bruno Mars with Aloe Blacc.

Today’s confession:  Yes, I bought two tickets to see Bruno Mars.  No I don’t know the words to any of his songs. (Okay, maybe a few lines)  Yes, I am the greatest bespren in the entire world of besprens.  (tee-hee-hee!)

This just goes to show how much I heart my bespren.  I am not a true fan, but Mr. Bruno Mars does not have to know this.  I will take her to this concert, endure the screaming crowd of true fans, maybe I’ll even wear a glow stick on a necklace.  You might even catch me dancing a little.  Who knows what I’m capable of this Saturday.
 

The point is that it will be nearly an entire day without children.  I am pretty sure I could find a way to amuse myself while getting an oil change if I didn’t have the short stacks tugging on my shirt or crying for me.  

Excited doesn’t even justify the way I am feeling about spending Saturday in Raleigh with my bespren.  It is a rare thing, for us to be able to spend time together as adults.  We can talk about anything and there will be no interruptions.  We can use “dirty” words.  Visit our favorite coffee shop and people-watch, even sit in silence if we choose.  (Which we won’t)  I can even use the bathroom ALONE.  Say what?!

It is going to be glorious!

Do you have any fun plans this weekend?  How often do you see your best friend?

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

4 thoughts on “Hump Day Confessions #23: Bruno Mars, Here We Come

  1. Oh my dear bespren. I am so glad we are able to jump over hurdles together. The day didn't go as planned but the fact that we were together already made it better. Having you next to me on my worst day is much better than having a great day without you. #bae637

    Like

Leave a Reply

