What I’ve Been Up To

The last week and a half has been pretty much a blur.  I remember going through the motions of each day, but it has been so hectic. 
I didn’t have much time to sit and write about anything.  Not gonna lie, I missed my blog.

First, there was S’s ballet recital.  The week preceding was busy with rehearsals.


As soon as that was over, I concentrated on getting things ready for L’s first birthday.  Party decor was big.  I made everything by hand, if not semi-handmade.  It was fun though it was busy busy busy and lots of late nights for me.


Party Day arrived. 


Oh my goodness, I was a train wreck.


Have you ever had this idea of a super awesome party with a really cool theme?  You get it in your head that you will not overdo it, you’ll plan ahead, you’ll get enough rest the night before? 


Yes that was the ideal way in which my party cookie would crumble.


I also thought as a blogger, “Oh I’m totally going to take all sorts of pictures in the process, draft up tutorials along the way, document the party with notes and pictures and tips…”


Let’s just say it is a damn miracle I didn’t fall on my face during the party out of sheer exhaustion and anxiety all in the same pot.

It’s a really good thing I had so many people that helped out.  They were frosting, and slicing, and dicing, and mixing and cooking…


And you know how sometimes you wish you could clone yourself to take care of everything, yourself?


Yeah I felt like a Bridezilla, only instead of a wedding it was a baby’s first birthday.  What would we call that?  Hostess-zilla?


Everything went as well as I could have hoped for.  There were some dishes I forgot to make.  (Oops!)  Some of my lovely decorations were not admired.  (Darn it!)  And I wasn’t ready with camera on hand for party pics.  I think that last one hurt the most, because you know me and my camera are like two peas in a pod.  I’m always taking pictures.


With all that said, you can absolutely expect a post about the party itself.  I did my best to take behind-the-scenes pictures along the way.  I’m really excited to show you all what I accomplished, aside from being sleep-deprived and high on caffeine most of the days.

Yawn…now it’s time for me to finish recovering.  
How was your weekend?

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To

  1. Oh man, just reading this I felt how busy you were! The week before a party is always busy in my life.. I am a huge procrastinator though so that probably has something to do with it? Haha

    Like

  2. It was probably the worst week. Haha! Not really…I just have this knack for taking on more than necessary. Party decor, menu-planning, cooking, baking, reservations, etc. I actually started prepping a couple of months ago, believe it or not! It's just that I got so tangled up in the DIY portion. Oops! Lesson learned.

    Like

  3. Eeek. Sounds really hectic Dee. I think it's something in the air… there's a lot of busyness floating around. We just had a marathon week and today we wrapped up our homeschooling year with a celebration of learning with my daughter's homeschool teacher. I plan on completely flaking out for the next few days. I need to relax!

    Wishing you a lovely weekend. Hopefully you get an opportunity to Dee-compress (hee, hee, I couldn't resist).
    xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

