Super Energy Balls

I know, the name of this snack is nothing shy of sounding like a weapon of choice in a video game.  (I’m imagining Super Mario Brothers and their fire balls)  Trust me, this is serious healthy business!
I ate 4 of these over the weekend and completely tore up and re-planted a garden bed on my back porch.  I can’t confirm whether or not it was the after-lunch energy, or the free time I got during nap time.  Either way, these are crazy good.  Full of protein and it’s so much better than reaching for a cookie.  (my Kryptonite) 

Make them for someone else!  Perfect to give new mommies, which is what I did last week.  Maybe these would fare well at a sporting event in a cooler, but I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t last long.  I may make these and bring them for my daughter’s dance recital this weekend, for them to eat in between sets.  



Since I found this recipe, I’ve made them a couple of times just so I could keep some handy in my refrigerator.  It’s a quick morning snack that I can be okay with.  When I was in the middle of making dinner and starving in the process, these were what held me over.  



Here is the recipe:

1 C peanut butter
2 TBSP  butter, melted
1/2 C honey
1/2 C non-fat dry milk powder
2 C Tasteeos, Cheerios or similar
1/2 to 2/3 cup flaked coconut


Combine peanut butter, melted butter, and honey in a bowl.  Stir in milk  powder.  Add cereal and stir until all the pieces are evenly coated.  Drop 1 tsp of mixture into coconut and roll into ball.  Repeat.  Store in airtight container in the refrigerator.


Yields 5 dozen.
(This recipe was found on a box of Tasteeos cereal)


These can be whipped up in no time.  I even halved the recipe when I didn’t have enough of the ingredients for a full batch.


I also personally made my balls a little bigger, about 1 TBSP.  You can add 1/2 C of raisins too, though Ieft them out.  I hope you try these and enjoy them!


What is your healthy go-to snack that you like to keep on hand?

I linked up here:
Spatulas On Parade’s link-up The Southern Special

Mabey She Made It

 

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

5 thoughts on “Super Energy Balls

  1. I remember being completely ravenous after having a baby. (x4, haha) So when I got the chance to make a dish for new parents, I included a batch of these for the new Mommy.

    They are absolutely fantastic! I could eat a whole plate of them with a glass of milk, no big deal. 🙂

    It was just another busy day here in the house, with a bedridden husband. But, I know they appreciate and love me (and will make it up to me, hee hee) Hope you had a wonderful day as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

