Hump Day Confessions #21: I Once Used Wall Paper As Stationary

Confession:  I enjoy being frugally crafty.

Our son L is turning the BIG 1 in a couple of weeks and I’m in the process of planning everything.  I’m making decorations, party food (obviously), and even my invitations.

Which is what brings me to my confession of the day.

You will think “OMG she is so cheap.”

Hopefully say “Wow, so creative!”

I know some will even say “I would have just bought the invitations and not wasted the time and brain power.”

In the beginning, I had invitations.  I bought them at Target on clearance for $1.48, just last year.  I knew (way back last year) that I wanted a sailor theme and these cards were just SO cute.  I was prepared.

The thing is that these invitations are baby shower invitations.  L has been on this wonderful green earth for a whole year now.  We know he is a boy.  I didn’t realize this until recently, when I happily pulled them out of my card stash thinking “Oh yea, who is planning ahead!”    

Hello square one!  No invitations.

Plan B:  Make them myself!

After lots of brain storming with Big D and M, collectively we came up with a pretty good plan using materials and supplies I already had.

What I used:
DVD cardboard movie labels
Baby shower invitation cards
Mod Podge
paint brush or foam brush (doesn’t matter)
Exacto knife
Self-healing mat (Fiskars)
Wall paper border (or decorative scrapbook paper)
Blank cards
Fun washi tape
Stamps (optional)
Sealant (stickers, double-sided tape, wax seal like mine, etc)

Goal:  To make sailor-themed post-card invitations.

First thing’s first – covering up that DVD label.  (Have you watched this movie before?)

The cardboard DVD labels were bought from a Blockbuster that was closing down.  I snagged a lot of them at the price of 20/$1 x 2.  Hey, I knew it would come in handy.

Wallpaper was a Goodwill find.

1.  I cut the wall paper to fit the cardboard.  Then I brushed the face of the cardboard (with the movie label facing me) with Mod Podge.  Carefully, I placed the wall paper onto the cardboard and smoothed out any wrinkles and bubbles.  Then I allowed it to dry while I worked on the rest. 

2.  Using an Exacto knife and a self-healing mat, I cut the excess wall paper from the cardboard.   

3.  Taking a blank card, I cut off enough of one side to leave a tab.  This isn’t something that you need to do, but for my post card I wanted to hide the party details during the mailing process.  I used Mod Podge to adhere the tab to the front of my post card, that way the bigger half would cover up the party details.

Now that all the hard work is done, the fun part is the layout and designing the rest of these fun invitations.

4.  I had planned to line the back and write in the details of the party.  But that was too boring and too easy.  Instead, I cut up the baby shower invitations, taking the pieces that I wanted to use. The inside of the invitation was super cute, with the ship and the sea creatures. 
And, it was ready for me to pencil in the party info.

5.  On the front of my post card, I covered up the tab with washi tape.  Then I used pieces of the original baby shower invitation to tie the whole card theme together, front to back.  Ahoy!

6.  Once I wrote the details, I covered up the party info with the other half of the blank card (see how it folds over?) and then sealed it with my wax and sealer.  Fun!  I added more washi tape to this side to break up the bright white of the card.

 I stamped “To:” and “From:” and addressed them.  I realized I put the To above the From and I think it goes the other way for post cards.  Oh well, it’s clearly labeled for which direction they will be heading.

Also, size alone will probably force me to use two stamps, though I don’t think weight (0.8 oz) will push the cost over any more.

 I think I may keep one as a keepsake.

What do you think of L’s party invitations?  
Tell me what you would say if you received a card like this in the mail.  
What kind of fun cards have you made?

I linked up here:
CarrieThisHome.com 
The Deliberate Mom’s Shine Blog-Hop

 photo simplysig_zps2deaa2f8.png

8 thoughts on “Hump Day Confessions #21: I Once Used Wall Paper As Stationary

  1. OK, these are fabulous! I love that you used wall paper. So creative and recycling goodness. I recently used old lego boxes to make invites for my son's 8th bday – it was a lego themed party. I will be tweeting your confession for the world to see… 🙂

    Like

  2. Lego boxes! Now that is creative and awesome!!! Whenever I can, I try to shop in my craft closet to avoid spending money at Michael's. I don't ever go in there and leave with just 1 item. It's dangerous to tempt me. Haha!

    Oh my goodness, thank you so much for sharing. I am so glad that you liked them!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness DEE! These are so cute and so clever and deliciously recycling, reusable bliss! Way to go!

    Do you ever get the realty maps of your city in the mail? I save them and every year wrap my husband's birthday gifts in them LOL.

    Thanks so much for sharing. I would love it if you would share this post on my first ever SHINE Blog Hop. This post needs to SHINE!

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

    Like

  4. Oh darn it!!! I missed it! I'm going to head over and see if it's too late to link up.

    I'm so glad you love it! The best part IS the recycling and reusing! 🙂 Makes me smile.

    I don't, but I've printed out driving directions and turned the printout into an envelope. It was really neat!

    Thank you so much for stopping by and I hope you're having a wonderful weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

