Photo Challenge #3 ISO & An Eclectic Tablescape

This portion of the challenge was for studying ISO, or our camera’s sensitivity to light.  I learned that the higher the number, the more light is let into the lens.  And the lower the number, the least amount of light.  

Sounds pretty easy, right?

Well, ISO is not the only thing to adjust for the optimum lighting.  The shutter speed is adjusted to allow as much or as little light to hit the lens.  

For the pictures inside, I was using single-digit shutter speeds. (1/4 – 1/6)  This allowed the lens to remain open longer and allow enough light in.  This is not optimal for moving objects (children).  It resulted in many streaks of quickness, and I deleted all of the pics.


I didn’t know what to think about this challenge.  It was not as fun as the other two, but I can now tie all three (Aperture, shutter speed, ISO) together.  

I took this picture in my living room at night.  I mention it being night time because my living room is fairly gloomy, save for the one light near the TV.  So I had to really play around with shutter speed and ISO, not to mention adjusting to the type of light I was working with (tungsten).

Settings:
ISO was 6400
Tungsten lighting
Shutter Speed was 1/4 for best lighting.

I also played around with some items on a table.  And by “played around” I really mean I strategically placed them there to create a whimsical tablescape for no reason other than to make my kitchen look cheerful.   First “tablescape” ever, though I don’t know which holiday or season I’d use this for.  

As you can see, it is a progression of light to dark.  I tried different ISO settings and shutter speeds to get this effect.

I love how you can’t tell that I used a window with blinds as a backdrop in the first pic.  Normally, I won’t put my subjects against white.  But this turned out kind of cool, maybe a teensy bit white-washed and blinding on the perimeter of my objects outline.  With each picture afterwards, it gets less cool.  My neighbor’s tire is making a special appearance in the lower right corner. 
  
I’m a little slow at making adjustments, so those of you who I plan on shooting, especially this weekend, you have to be patient!  Haha! 
I will be using my new easy and portable backdrop frame too!  Be sure to check out my vlog and post here to see how I made it.  (Or if you just need a little laugh, that’s fine too.)

Hope you’re enjoying your Thursday!  Who’s going to Happy Hour? I linked up here:
Crafty Wife | Photography Ladies


5 thoughts on “Photo Challenge #3 ISO & An Eclectic Tablescape

  1. Very nice explanation of ISO and lighting.. I need to learn more about the different settings. I usually just auto click.. I love the little green owl. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Hi Becka! My camera was pretty confusing to me, with all of the bells and whistles. I too was a point and shoot girl before I got the camera last year for my birthday. Some of my pictures came out orange, some with too much lighting, some were too dark…but never blurry. I think that's one skill I learned to master early on. Haha!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

