Hump Day Confessions #17: Take Off Your Shoes & Stay A While

Today’s confession:  Shoes worn in the house freak me out.
 
If you have visited an Asian’s home, you know that your shoes are taken off upon entry.  Asians, (most of them) are sticklers about having shoes worn in their homes.  If you ever drive through your neighborhood and see a porch with shoes lined up on a rug, you can bet your last cup of rice that they’re Asian.

Not a bad idea!

Am I stereotyping?  Probably a little. But this is coming from an Asian who grew up taking her shoes off, as a visitor and as person living in her mom’s house.  (And eating a lot of rice, ha!)  It’s a hard habit to kick, but a good one to keep.  I’d like to think that:
A)  Taking your shoes off is a sign that you feel comfortable in someone’s home.  When they ask you to remove your shoes, it is a sign that they find comfort and trust your company well enough to invite you to stay.  (my attempt at interpreting a philosophical purpose in the matter)
B)  You don’t want outside business on your floors.  Isn’t this just common sense?

Imagine you are at a public restroom.  Then later on you come home and are traipsing all over your house.  Enough said, book closed. Forget about it. Take your shoes off, and throw them away.  (No – just kidding, that’s wasting money and we are a bit frugal here.)

I can’t help but cringe when I see shoes on someone’s feet, inside the house. Big D says that once our youngest is finally off the floor and able to walk, we will wear shoes in the house.  Uummmmmmmm……….it’s debatable.

Wearing socks around the house is my thing.  Don’t really like to be barefoot, and I am weird about house slippers.  I like my socks clean, and often times will change my socks a couple of times a day.  

OCD much? No, I can still function normally throughout my day.  I may twitch here and there, but we have come a long way.

This brings me to this wonderful product that I purchased a couple of weeks ago at Lowe’s.  

I had to call a plumber last week.  Ugh.  When I think of a plumber, I imagine them literally walking into poopy situations.  Those boots go into a person’s home, ie mine.  They don’t work in their bare feet people!  Those boots cross back and forth all over my floors.  

EEEEEK!  If you aren’t “skin-crawling hair-raising” freaked out yet, then maybe the next few details will do it.

The plumber in those boots made a HUGE mess of my bathroom.  I am surprised that there was nothing on the curtains or ceiling.  Seriously.  So he’s working in the playroom bathroom, toting in his equipment.  The biggest and strangest being this short wide cylindrical thing on wheels.  An auger?  I don’t know, that’s why I’m not a plumber.  From what I gather, the hose/line within is inserted into the pipe and sent through the system to the site of the clog.  From there, I imagine little trolls popping out of the end with little hammers and scrub brushes to clean out whatever is clogging up the water works.

I will spare you the rest of the dirty poopy details.  (FYI: the toilet was not fixed at this time)  It was the dirtiest mess I have ever seen (and cleaned).

I did what I could to clean up the bathroom, which was just shy of sterilization.  I knew that if I didn’t get my carpet cleaned, I wouldn’t be able to sleep so I rented a machine and took care of it.  My carpet was drying when I went to bed, and I was appeased for the night.

Next morning, I had an appointment for these people to come back out and actually fix the problem.  “Oh hell no, they are not walking on my freshly cleaned carpet!!!” 

That was when I decided to take preventative measures to keep the gross factor at a minimum.  I went to Lowe’s and bought a professional grade drop-cloth.  Only it was more like the texture of those huge bed pads they use in the hospitals, when your water breaks…yeah? No…?  Alright.

That’s a whole lot of amniotic fluid coverage!

I bought two of those bad boys in case a passerby goes into labor and needs a place to push to prevent another carpet-cleaning episode.  It was me, a roll of Duct tape, and this drop cloth.  I went to town taping it onto the carpet, onto my laminate floor in the hallway and right on up to my front door.  

Halfway through, the plumber knocked on the back door.  (‘Cause apparently that’s how it’s done in the South.)  What the-?!  I opened it and told him he could use the front since I taped everything down.  He laughed.  I gave him my best “This Asian is serious” look.

This was their blue carpet runway.  Told them to mind their boundaries.

They handled their business, ensuring to place equipment on the papery drop cloth.  I kept peeking and thinking for sure that I was going to find a tear in the drop cloth.  I was mentally preparing myself, thinking “Oh well we will just buy new carpet…” when they mentioned they were done.  

First chance I got, I went in there and pulled up the drop cloth, carefully so as to not spill a drop should there be one.  I was nervous about feeling the carpet, but I went in like a big girl.  Surprise!  No wetness!  No leaks!  No tears!  This stuff was awesome!

Not sure that I’d want to reuse, in this case.

It really holds up to it’s name, especially when they were putting my heavy toilet down on it, and dragging their pipe-trolling machine in and out.

Bottom line: (besides “never wear shoes in an Asian’s home”)  This drop cloth works.  Even with heavy machinery being dragged across it, the material held up.  It’s water-proof too.  Much lighter in weight, compared to a more traditional drop cloth.  Comes in a few different sizes.  Mine looked more like a runner, but I cut it to fit my needs.  And I paid around $15!  Score!

*This is not an affiliated or sponsored post.  Just my opinions in a funny format. 



21 thoughts on “Hump Day Confessions #17: Take Off Your Shoes & Stay A While

  1. Ha ha, glad you made it through the whole thing. I'm with you — no one comes in my house with shoes or boots on, that's a rule. And I don't like walking around barefoot either because the oils leave marks on the hardwood and you can see footprints all over the place. So, yeah, you're not alone.

    Like

  2. I'm glad you agree! It's just so weird to me to not remove my shoes. Or have people come in and not remove theirs. Aaaack! I think I really am going to invest in some shoe covers and leave them by both front and back doors. 😛

    Like

  3. I live in the Nashville, TN area and it's mostly Middle Eastern or Egyptian homes where you will see a bookcase filled with shoes at the front door. And then add the OCD people and viola…LOL! What irks me more is when my 4yo touches the bottom of her shoes…eeeewwww! o_O

    Like

  4. Haha that's really funny because I have a bookcase I am painting and decoupaging just for that purpose! Ewe, yes, touching the bottom of shoes is gross. My 11-year-old once ate one of those Quaker Oatmeal fruit-filled breakfast snacks off of her sandal – after she had dropped it and stepped on it. Gross factor of 10!!!!

    Like

  5. Your post made me laugh 🙂 I grew up in Seattle and most of my friends through college were Asian. I got so used to taking my shoes off at the door that I do the same thing at my house. I hate to think of all the germs that would be tracked in with outdoor shoes. And I would have put down something if a plumber was working on my house too. Dirty water is full of nasty germs I wouldn't want tracked into my two boys room!

    Like

  6. Haha glad I could make you laugh. It's just second nature to leave your shoes at the door. I am actually finishing up a small project with a bookshelf, turning it into the shoe keeper near our back door. Another idea is to buy those shoe covers, which I am seriously considering!

    I absolutely love your food blog posts. I find lots of cooking and baking inspiration from your blog. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  7. Same here. No-one gets into our house with shoes or boots on either.I agree about the oils from bare feet so we wear slippers.Everyone seems to take their shoes off around here, even workmen.

    Like

  8. I have the same rule at my home no shoes. Never an issue especially with my g/f's who always seem happy to shed their shoes.
    I follow the same rule when I visit, I take my shoes off.
    Like you I don't like slippers so at home it is either socks or stockings.
    when I visit I generally have socks in my purse to put on to prevent my stockings from snags!

    Like

  9. Hi Mark! So true about the oils. That is awesome that even workers will take their shoes off. I'm in the middle of renovating my bathroom (contractors are actually doing it) and I gave up on shoe-less floors for the time being. The noise and nap interruptions make this Momma a very tired and less patient person. I'm just here surviving until the job is done. Haha!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

  10. Oh my! I like to pack an extra pair of socks too! That is too funny. Slippers are nice during the winter, but they aren't easily washed. Or maybe I just don't know how to wash them without having them bend or mark up my washer. I prefer socks because they are easy.

    Thanks for stopping by, Robin!

    Like

  11. When I feel that stockings or socks might not be appropriate I have several pair of foldable soft-soled ballerina flats in various colors that I put on.

    Like

  12. I started my shoes-off rule about 11 years ago when I rented an apartment with beige carpet. I was once told by a professional carpet cleaner that socks or slippers are the way to make your carpet last. Shoes will obviously wear the carpet down over time, but oils from barefeet will ruin it as well.

    Knowing that, I walk around in my socks 100 percent of the time at home, never with shoes, slippers or barefeet. The apartment manager told me they generally replace people's carpets after seven years. Mine lasted 10 years before they decided to replace it, which proves to me that “socks-only” is a good policy.

    I just make sure to invest in durable socks. Slippers work well to keep your carpet clean, but I don't like to wear them. Too much like shoes, too confining. I figure if I tried to wear slippers they would stay on for maybe five minutes, and then I'd get tired of them and kick them off. Might as well just walk in socks and be comfortable. 😉

    Like

  13. Our first house was by the beach and we had expensive light carpets. The fitter told us to keep shoes and bare feet off the carpet. We kept slippers the door and changed into them when we got home.We had that house for ten years and kept it clean and unmarked, even with kids and living adjacent to mud and sand.Guests got into the habit of bringing slippers or wearing socks. We have moved inland now and still do the same. Where we live is either a dust bowl or mud bath all year round. So its the norm here to take shoes off.Most home here have carpets(expensive and light) When I got home yesterday and took my sandals off, the soles of my feet were very dirty from mud and dust. You have no choice but to slide into your slippers.Its the same when visiting.

    Like

  14. I take off my shoes too but more so to relax than as a rule. Why would anyone want to wear shoes in their house anyway, especially in New York City where I live? With everything in the streets over here, would you want to track that stuff inside? I don't think so.

    And I'm with you on this one…never much of a barefoot person and slippers are too heavy and restrictive sometimes. Socks all the way…it's just more comfortable!

    Like

  15. Robin, what a great idea! I bought ballet flats to keep for when I am out and about and my feet may get tired of being in heels. Never thought to buy another pair to wear indoors!! What an excellent idea! I'm going to do that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

