Weekly Recap & Bananas Foster Baked French Toast

Oh Sunday, how do I love thee? 
I don’t. 
Because you’re a day away from Monday.  
I’ve already got a case of the Mondays.  The weather has me a little down.  I wanted to do so much today, but my creative spirit was lessened by the cold.  The bluish gray sky did little to cheer me up.  
It’s time for a weekly recap!  Let’s kick this blah feeling, and go over the good things that happened this week.
http://simplydconstructed.blogspot.com/2014/03/weekly-recap-bananas-foster-baked.html
 (Loving my new series button!)
I quit the gym
Pinterest has been my workout friend when my local gym has failed me.  I found a tabata workout that can be done in minutes.  Literally.  It’s awesome because I don’t have an hour to myself here at home to work out, let alone shower.  Read more about that, here
 
Photo Ladies Challenge
I accepted the challenge to learn how to better use my fancy cam.  DSLR cameras literally come with books on how to use them.  If you ask me what I have read lately, it would be my custom DSLR novel, made just for my amateur self.  Check out this post to see how I did!

Things I’m Digging

Friday is the day of my “List It” series that I’ve got going on.  I love this series because of it’s versatility.  I can touch on any number of my interests with this series.  So many post ideas floating around in my noggin.  There’s hardly ever a day where I am stumped for an idea of what to make a list for.  If you ever see my grocery list end up on the series, you might need to give me some inspiration ASAP.  Here is what made it on the series this week. And if you like lists like I do, feel free to write a blog post and leave your link in my comment sections!  (Give me a reason to start a link-up!)

What I did this weekend

I definitely enjoyed the weather on Saturday. (Still upset that it’s cold today)  Spent time working in the shed with my tools, being awesome and handy.  (Or playing the part really well.)

//instagram.com/p/lkV5YqGQaG/embed/
Guess who!  The one and only Big D, that’s who!  He hardly ever makes an appearance on the blog, but he was my hired help this weekend.  Any reason to get him outside and he came up with this one on his own.   (Plus he built the grill and grilled for us!)
//instagram.com/p/lnNEKsGQb6/embed/
 

I started a project that is taking me longer than expected…


With the weather turning cold today, the paint is taking longer to dry.  *big sigh*  Soon it’ll be finished and I can post about this project.

Lastly, I have a recipe for you.  It’s starting to become a routine for my weekly recaps and so far I’m loving it.  I hope you are too!

Bananas Foster Baked French Toast
Who doesn’t love an amazing breakfast when they first wake up on Saturday mornings?  I pulled this recipe from my “Taste of Home” magazine.  It takes about 30 minutes to prepare, a nice nap in the fridge overnight, then you bake it first thing in the morning. 

Simply delicious.

Ingredients

http://simplydconstructed.blogspot.com/2014/03/weekly-recap-bananas-foster-baked.html1/2 C butter, cubed
2/3 C packed brown sugar
1/2 C heavy whipping cream
1/2 t ground cinnamon
1/2 t ground allspice
1/4 chopped pecans, optional
3 large bananas
12 slices challah or egg bread
1 1/2 C 2% milk
3 eggs
1 T sugar
1 t vanilla extract

Yesterday was the first time making this recipe.  I typically post recipes that I feel confident in making, but I will admit I need to work on this.  I wanted to get this recipe up on the blog so maybe someone else might have success with it.

Do you know what egg bread or challah is?  If you said no, then I say “me neither.”  If you said yes, then I say “Awesome.  Tell me where can I buy it!”  I seriously had no clue where to find egg bread around here, so I went with the softest bread I know of: Sara Lee’s Sweet Hawaiian Rolls.  I have nothing to compare this to, but I really think they were a good replacement!

Directions
1.  Melt butter in microwave [I used a sauce pan]; stir in brown sugar, cream, spices, and pecans.  Add bananas, toss to coat.  Transfer to ungreased 13×9 dish.  Place bread on top of mixture.
2.  Combine milk, eggs, sugar and vanilla in a blender; blend til smooth.  Pour over bread, refrigerate covered for 8 hours or overnight.
3.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Take casserole out of the refrigerator and let sit out while the oven heats.  Bake, uncovered for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the middle comes out clean.  Allow this to stand 5-10 minutes.  To serve, invert onto a serving platter [where I had trouble]

http://simplydconstructed.blogspot.com/2014/03/weekly-recap-bananas-foster-baked.html

This recipe was delicious in taste, but final appearances gave this dish no justice.  

I admit, it’s looking pretty sad.  It didn’t come out of the pan as easily.  The rolls look burnt.  The bananas look less appealing…

Don’t be fooled by this photo!  This bananas foster french toast is every bit as delicious as it sounds. This french toast recipe has not seen the last of me.  We will go many rounds until it is perfected.  You are all my witnesses!

I’m considering a “List It” series link-up, so I’m going to throw this out there: Would you be interested in my awesome “List It” Friday series?

Here’s to a new week, my friends!  


 

Leave a Reply

