Ask Away Friday #2 With Sarah

AskAwayFriday

Time for my second round of Ask Away Friday!  If you don’t know about this series, it is a great way to get to know other bloggers and hone in on your networking skills.  Bloggers partner up and swap 10 questions each.  The questions will be answered in a blog post, then linked up on Real Housewife Of Caroline County.  

Great idea? Think about joining!

Anyway, let’s get started.  This week, I paired up with Sarah.  She is from the Midwest (woot-woot) where I pay homage to my birth region.  She hails from Iowa, hence her blog name, and I can’t wait to hear how she answers my questions on living in a small town.  Sarah enjoys being able to stay at home with her 2 daughters.  I can’t wait to see how she answers my other questions.  As if I didn’t pick her brain enough with those questions, I think I’m going to ask her for help on putting the hostess’ buttons on this post.  Maybe I can edit later…what do you say, Sarah?  You can check out her blog here.

Small town Iowan family

Here are the questions Sarah asked me, followed by my answers:

1.  I have to say you have the funniest about me section I’ve seen in a while. You sound like you have a great personality and that we would have fun together because I love to laugh.  So if we were to spend a day together, what would we do?
~Thank you!  Well, one of the things I don’t get often is a partner in crime.  I live a good distance from my friends in either direction, so I’m usually a one-man wolf pack.  The soloist.  Party of one, please?  If we ever hung out, I would drag you on an adventure.  Ideally, I would like to start my day with some sort of exercise.  So you’re coming with me to try out a zumba class!  Afterwards, we’d hit up a nearby city and go geocaching.  Once we get tired of finding absolutely nothing, we would go and grab a bite to eat.  I hope it’s lunch because that is my favorite meal of the day.  We will even make time for appetizers, since it’s an adults-only meal.  (Yesssss.)  After we eat like queens, we would then walk around aimlessly, taking silly pictures.  The great thing about a partner in crime – there would be no need for weird “arm-in-the-pic” selfies or setting self-timers and the hassle with positioning.  Score!  I’d also like to go out to a social event.  Doesn’t matter if it’s a concert in the park or a bar for happy hour.  Being cooped up in the house with 4 little ones makes me anxious for adult interaction.  That’s a pretty busy day!  I’d miss the kids, and honestly I’m spent, so this is where we would bid adieu and head our separate ways.    

2.  Signature question lately.  Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
~Hopefully I wouldn’t have started to dye my hair.  (haven’t started yet!)  I’d like to be well-established in a career field.  I love blogging but I’m on the fence with when/how I will morph this hobby of mine into a career.  As far as the family goes, all 4 of the kids will be in school!  Holy cow, what a thought.  If I was still at home just blogging, it would be so strange not be distracted for 9 hours straight.  Location wise, we will eventually land in Texas.  Anything beyond this, I have no inkling of what to expect or hope for besides health and happiness.  I’m a “take it as it comes” kind of girl with enough optimism to make the ’80s feel hopeful for a comeback.

80s Outfit – Not Happening!

  3.  What is your favorite room in your house? (pics please :))

~Oh geez, my favorite room?  You’re going to make me clean aren’t you?  Stand by…
The living room!  (And I failed to cleaned up)  It’s where we spend most of our time as a family, and the room that’s most likely to be the cleanest.  Haha.  It also happens to be where I create all of my magnificent blog content, the majority of the time.  Where the magic happens.  Hence the disco lights and fun atmosphere…okay not really.  I’m just trying to detract from the reality of this room.  It’s nothing to “ooooh” and “ahhhh” over.  I sit right there on the couch in a weird way, with the cushion propped like that.  Yes we have a gym mat in place of a rug.  That’s where Thursday Night Throw Down happens every – well, Thursday.    I wish I could explain further, but the first rule of TNTD is you don’t explain a thing about TNTD.  This is a pretty candid depiction of how my evenings are spent. 

4.  I seen you mentioned wine a few times.  What is your favorite kind?
~I love red wine.  Pinot Noir is my favorite.  And that is all I know.  Big D is a connoisseur in this department.  He usually picks out some good ones.  I enjoy a good Moscato with my best friend when the moment suits us.  Not much for a sweet white, other than that.  I did attend a wine party a few months ago, and I feel I gained some wine knowledge to make me seem a little cooler. 
5.  If you could go anywhere in the world for a family vacation without any money worries, where would you go?
~If it were my choice alone, we would head straight to Europe.  Anywhere in Europe would be perfect for a starting point.  They have a railway that allows for easy travel (only because I have heard, never been before).  From there, we could travel to nearly all of the countries, filling up our passports.  I can’t even imagine all of the beautifully amazing things we would see on that trip.  And the food!  I bet there are some awesome lunches to be had.  Ha!!  One can dream.  Or win the vacation through a family game show:

6.  I giggled about your description of pop vs soda. What is your favorite kind of pop?
~I wish I could honestly say that I had a favorite.  I don’t drink pop (pop = soda or Coke or whatever word “other-than-Midwesterners” call the popular sweet carbonated beverages) nearly as much as I used to.  It’s a treat for me.  For the whole family actually.  We will usually splurge and buy root beer for Pizza Friday, but even that I don’t call pop.  It’s just root beer.  Haha, I just realized that we have classified root beer as it’s own specialty beverage.
7. What is one thing you don’t leave your house without?
~Sounds so cliche but I would not leave the house without my phone.  For safety reasons!  I have this fear of something happening and not having my phone available to call for help.  Or finding directions.   Or if something happened to one of my family members and nobody was able to reach me.  I worry more than I should, I’m sure.  It’s no wonder I haven’t a full head of gray hair, huh?
8.  Do you have any tattoos?
~I do have some tattoos.  Nine, actually.  It’s an expensive addiction that will one day meet its limitations.  One only has so much skin.
9.  Favorite meal you make?
~For myself?  I love lunch time with all of my lunch time heart.  My favorite thing to eat is a sandwich or a wrap with smoked Gouda or Havarti or Provolone, turkey or roast beef, Miracle Whip or Horseradish (or whatever I’m fancying at the moment), sprinkled with Garlic-Pepper powder or garlic and onion powder, and TONS of vegetables.  The down side to making a huge sandwich or wrap is that it could easily turn into complete chaos with everything falling out, my hands get all messy, I’m sad-faced that I must now use a fork…  I try to think about that when I load it up on veggies like bell peppers, spinach, onions, tomatoes, banana peppers, etc.  It really irks me when things fall out of my carefully crafted “45-minute sandwiches” as Big D calls them.  I’m actually getting upset thinking about my sandwich falling apart tomorrow at lunch…
10.  Do you guys do anything fun for Valentines?
~Well, Baby L has a doctor’s appointment, and we have Friday “Pizza & A Movie” night later on when Big D gets home… In other words, it’s just another day in our house.  If the mood strikes us, Big D and I might try and get out of the house together and go see a movie or go to dinner.

Well that’s all, my friends!  TGIF!!!

Leave a Reply

