Owl Mustache For The Cure

Hello friends!  Where I normally have a recipe to share or something funny and entertaining to write about, today is going to be slightly different.  I am going to preface this by saying that I would like something from you, my dear readers.

(And I will explain the odd and silly title to this post)


Do you know what Cystic Fibrosis is?  I had no idea until several years ago when my two friends Chris and Sherry were faced with the disease.
I have known Chris since we were stationed together up in Kodiak, Alaska, back in ’02.  I had the pleasure of meeting his then girlfriend a couple of years later, when we were stationed together again in Maryland.  My oldest daughter was the flower girl in their wedding.  I was there when their daughter Sadie was born.  

Sadie was diagnosed with Cystic Fibrosis at birth.  Unbeknownst to Chris and Sherry, they are carriers of CF.  All this news was devastating to say the least.

Since finding out about their daughter’s diagnosis, they have seen numerous doctors, and researched everything they could on Cystic Fibrosis.  That’s pretty much everything parents in this situation can do for their children.  When Wyatt was born, and though the news was equally devastating, they were better equipped to handle the news of his CF diagnosis.  They knew who to turn to for help and support, as the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation was already a major part of their lives.  Now they hope and pray and stride for a cure.
Each year, Chris and Sherry participate in a walk for the cure, called Great Strides.  They help to raise money for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation through Great Strides.  It is a family-friendly event held all throughout the country that raises awareness and provides a support network for those with CF and their families.  With an amazing support group and community, they find it a little less daunting and a little more hopeful.  Finding a cure is in the hearts and hopes of many others out there who are involved with the foundation.  

I am partnering up with Chris and Sherry, who currently live in Hawaii.  Though I wish I could be there to walk with them this May, (don’t we all?!) I am contributing from afar.  You can visit their campaign here to read a little more about them. 

T-Shirt Design!!!

This is where your part begins, my friends.  Please check out my t-shirt campaign page at teespring.com/simplydconstructed.  You see the title of this post?  It has something to do with my design!  I am so excited to say that with the blessing of Picmonkey, I made it!  Both Sherry and I are in love with it, since she is the wise librarian and I have an affinity for owls.  Make one of these fabulous t-shirts yours for a great cause.  Spread the word!  You are that much closer to owning a shirt that was truly “Simply D Constructed.”  And so is everyone else!

Let’s pull together for a great cause.  Help give people with Cystic Fibrosis more tomorrows.  You can also stop by Chris and Sherry’s personal campaign page too. It would mean so much to me and to them and everyone else who is waiting for a cure.

All of the profits will go towards the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  You’re not only helping my friends out, you’re helping everyone with Cystic Fibrosis!

Note:  Should we not meet our goal (which we truly hope we do!) the t-shirts will not be created, and you will not be charged a cent. 

In other words, let’s meet our goal so we can all wear these sweet owl tees!

Links:

http://teespring.com/simplydconstructed
http://fightcf.cff.org/goto/murnan
http://www.cff.org/


Leave a Reply

