NaBloPoMo #19: "Plug In Or Pull The Plug?"

National Blog Post Month
How much of the day are you plugged in? Do you consciously set aside offline time, or does it happen whenever it happens?
Hmm…this was a pretty good writing prompt.  I knew it was coming up and I had my proposed response rolling around in the back of my mind.  Not only did I really think about this response, I actually attempted to unplug just a little.  

You see, I’m a new blogger.  I started this blog back in January of 2011, but I don’t count that date because I was clueless.  I only knew two things: I liked to bake and write.  I posted just to post.  Recipes,  things going on in my life…whatever came to mind resulting in the “I should blog about this!” thought.  Today, I don’t bake much, but I still maintain my love of writing.  And because I didn’t become “blog-smart” until probably this past September, I like to consider this year the real birth of my blog.

It’s a whole new game plan now.  I’ve been doing my fair share of reading, and studying and blog-stalking my fave blogs…basically there has and is a whole lot of learning going on underneath the radar.

To answer the prompt, initially I did stay plugged in.  When I first learned how beneficial Twitter was, I immediately jumped on the bandwagon though to be honest I didn’t want to.  I’m no newbie to Facebook, Instagram, or Google+, and all those accounts were on as long as I was awake.  One of the biggest parts of my learning experience is learning how to utilize these platforms for my benefit.  I’m still continuing to make them work for my blog. 

At least I think it’s all benefiting me.  

Today, I was not parked in front of my laptop while the kids ran a-muck.  Not that this happens every day, but I could be found guilty a time or two for getting blogging tunnel vision.  It’s so overwhelming in the beginning.  Can I really still call it the beginning?  To think back to when I was hungrily reading blogs, and tips, and blogging tips, my head was buzzing.  Literally buzzing.  The quiet was loud for me.  I felt like I couldn’t just sit, that I needed my laptop on and I needed to be plugged in and joining link-ups and tweeting this, and sharing that, and subscribing to a million different blogs.  

Ridiculous.  Exhausting. 


This writing prompt helped me realize that being plugged in is not a good thing for me.  I decided that I can wait.  The world will not end.  It will go on and be fine not knowing what crazy new recipe I came up with, or what failed DIY project I added to the list.  Everyone has one.  And constantly refreshing my social media feeds is unnecessary.  

Luckily, I only find interest in being plugged in on my laptop.  I don’t do much from my smart phone save for Instagram and Twitter a few times.  Anywhere away from my home is usually a stressful time, because more than likely my shadow is being trampled on by all 4 kids.  Special attention needs to be paid, or else you end up with strange things in your cart and a mess in the fruit and veggie aisle.

Bottom line: I compromised with myself.  I said “Self, I can’t shut it off cold turkey.  But I will shut most of it off for the sake of sanity.”  I keep my email account open so I can glance over at it when I’m passing through the room. And Bloglovin too. (I just love Bloglovin!)

How about you?  Are you plugged in most of the day or very little?  Are you ever exhausted?  What is your blogging schedule like?  For my non-bloggers, when do you plug in the most?


 

  

Leave a Reply

