NaBloPoMo #14: "Soaring With Eagles"

  Today’s writing prompt:  Are you a morning person or a night owl?
Soar with the eagles or hoot with the owls… Depends on which day you catch me on, and who I am with [insert best friend].
Typically, I am a morning person.

Isn’t every optimist a morning person?  You have a fresh clean slate to start with.


Between 6 and 7 in the morning, I feel the most productive.  I get M up so she can get ready for school.  Then I typically have an hour or so to myself. I will eat my breakfast, get my coffee that D made before he left for work, and power up the laptop.  Around 7, in the middle of my Bloglovin daily reads, I will watch M head out the door and run down the front walk to catch her bus.

That is typically how my day starts.
Today started out like this:

I woke up at 5:56AM successfully without waking L.  Went into M’s room to wake here up and I proceeded to walk down the stairs. I turned around to see a groggy M, sitting in her bed but making some sort of effort to get up. 

On to breakfast. 

I turned on the news because I swore that there would a school delay with the snow and cold that we had the night before.  That’s what happens when you live in North Carolina. 

School is on. 

I ate my grapefruit so I don’t catch a cold. (L is still battling a runny/stuffy nose and a slight cough.) I am certain that this piece of fruit that I have grown to love is the sole reason I’m not hacking up a lung right now.  I ate it like a steak.  It gets cut up in slices with a knife and a fork.  Some of you may be thinking I’m a weirdo, because I definitely don’t eat oranges this way.  Is there a difference in grapefruit etiquette?  I’ve seen some people eat it with a spoon.  Hmm.  

The news was on. I couldn’t stand to watch it for very long. Nothing but bad news anyway.  I’m quite surprised to see that my favorite station is being picked up clearly. (We did away with satellite TV)

What time is it? I still could see M’s bedroom light was on.  She must still be getting ready. 

On to my cereal. Multigrain Cheerios.  I eat both things for breakfast nearly every morning.  We’ll see how long this fad lasts.  

I go to sit down and realize that I’ve gotta move laundry from the washer to the dryer.  Task done.

Back to my cereal, that had been sitting in milk for the last 5-6 minutes.  Crap. Soggy cereal is the pits.

Where is M?

I headed back upstairs and she sure did make an effort to get up…she walked to her light switch, turned on her light, then went back to bed.  Hmm…she is going to be late!

I woke her up and was fussing with her for going back to bed. 
It reminded me of that one time in boot camp when the lights came on at the butt-crack of dawn and I made the mistake of rolling over and trying to go back to sleep.  That was the first and last time I attempted to sleep in.

She was ready and had her breakfast and all that crossed off of her short morning to-do list.  Phew!  We avoided a trip to her school.

It’s now time to shove her out the door.  Not literally, but she does need a good verbal push on most mornings.  Shut the door behind her and off to school she goes.  And back to my Bloglovin reading I go!

The rest of my morning is a blur of blog posts, socializing, and kids.  Not necessarily in that order, but sometimes it is.  Today I am thinking about all the things I need to complete before Thanksgiving.  Before guests arrive.  Aaah!  So much to do.

How about you?  Do you soar with the eagles or hoot with the owls?

Do you have any DIY projects that you’re trying to complete before Thanksgiving?  For Thanksgiving?  Please share!













Leave a Reply

