NaBloPoMo #12: "5 Things In My Fridge" + Creamy Caprese Quinoa Bake Recipe

I have tons that I want to update you on, and I am so excited!!!  I’ll probably put all in another post, but first thing’s first.  
My writing prompt for the day is followed by an amazing recipe that turned out better than I imagined.  Melted cheese, garden fresh basil, tomatoes, and can’t forget the quinoa!  See below.

Today’s writing prompt:  Name five things inside your refrigerator right now and how you feel about them.
Hmm…let’s see.
Bell peppers – I love it!  This is a new craze for me.  My best friend got me to eat these.  I never liked them ever in my life.  Ever.  And now I can’t eat a sandwich wrap without them.  I’ll even eat them alone, dipping them in the red pepper hummus – is that like cannibalism? 

Red Pepper Hummus – I feel like I could eat this every day with carrots or the bell peppers above.  And I love putting this in my wraps.  I think I may have convinced D that this is a purchase out of necessity.  Delicious!  I should just learn to make it on my own.  I think I saved a recipe somewhere…

Jalapeno hot sauce – I’m sorry I bought this last year.  I got excited when I read that it came from a local farmer, but I don’t quite know what to do with it yet.  I think it was used twice, to my knowledge.  Most of you reading this would probably say to throw it in chili or something.  I am not sure…Hmph.

Bag of cheese – I made a sucker out of myself and bought these two humongous bags of cheese to use in the future (over a month’s span)  I try to shop once a month to restock completely, then only go for stuff that runs out or doesn’t last long (bread, bananas, beer, etc [haha] )  I thought “Why not make cheese purchases something that happens once a month?”  Sam’s Club got me, and I went with the two huge bags of both mozzarella and cheddar.  Eh, it seemed necessary.

Okay, so I’m really excited to share this recipe with you guys.  I found it on Pinterest, and I am now following her foodie blog.  Read on!

Creamy Caprese Quinoa Bake


I apologize upfront for not having any pictures of the process in making this delicious side.  You should definitely visit this blog to get the full picture and recipe.  She did a wonderful job on photography for this dish.  And her food blog “Half Baked Harvest” is full of amazing recipes.
 I love easy recipes, and this is definitely easy!  I am proud to say that I made this recipe and it was a HIT!  Both kids and D liked it.  Anything that gets more than 5 bites is a success.  I had a minor setback, since I didn’t read the directions properly.  Use cooked quinoa!  But it turned out perfectly, even if I took a different route to get there.

This recipe called for basil and I was praying that I wouldn’t have to make a trip to Walmart.  Shocking news: it is November and I was able to pull off a ton of leaves from the basil plants in my garden.  I love basil!!!  I would have made pesto and divided it up for future use in sauces, but that’s because I didn’t know any other way of “preserving” the basil leaves.  That was until I pinned this on Pinterest.  I only used about 8 basil leaves in the quinoa bake, and M had picked a ton for me.  So I thought I’d try this method to preserve them in my freezer.  Bonus:  I used up the entire box of salt so there’s more room in my cabinets.  Haha, small victories.

I’ve linked up!  Have you?
Let’s Be Friends Blog Hop
Happy Tuesday everyone!  

Leave a Reply

