NaBloPoMo November – I Signed Up!

I officially entered into this month-long challenge.  I’m not sure what is wrong with me, as if I don’t have enough on my plate.  But whatever is subconsciously going on upstairs, this must be a sign that I needed a bigger challenge for my blog.  So every day of this month you will be reading a post based on one single question. 

The writing prompt:  If you found one million dollars in the morning and had to spend it by nightfall, what would you do with the money?

Let’s see…some ground rules should apply.  It says “to spend by nightfall” so that must mean no portion of it can be saved in a bank account.  

Okay, now lets proceed.

$1,000,000!!!  I’m a millionaire, whoohoo!!!  I’d probably have a cup of coffee with my husband, and we would collectively dream up ways to spend this money: both sensibly and insanely.  Or at least as insane as we get, which isn’t really much at all.

First and foremost, debt is gone.  Vehicles, and house paid off.

$834,500

Now, it’s time to have a little fun with remodeling.  Let’s say we put $50,000 into this house, redoing the roof, remodeling the kitchen and all bathrooms, making the garage into an actual livable room, and giving the front of the house some much needed curb appeal.  Not to mention stripping and refinishing all hardwood and updating appliances.

$784,500

The next logical thing to do is buy a vacation home.  Beach house on the Outer Banks!  We don’t need a huge house, just something to comfortably fit our family and additional guests.  $500,000

$284,500

I’d like to donate money to a few good causes.  Veteran’s fund:  $25,000.  Red Cross:  $25,000.  A children’s fund: $25,000.  That’s $75,000.

$209,500

I’d give my mom and my mother-in-law the vacation of their lives, all expenses prepaid of course.  $50,000 and $50,000.

$109,500

The rest of the money is up for frivolous squandering.  New wardrobe for husband and myself: $5,000 and $5,000.  We would probably just do a little bit of updating, I’d spend on high heels and workout clothes.  Hee-hee!  We’d give the kids awesome tree house for the back yard: $5,000.  Since we can’t put money in the bank (because of the rule) we would set aside money for each child to spend at some point in the day.  Being that they are so young, they probably won’t get that they need to spend it all, and like us, will probably run out of things to purchase.  Oh well.  $2,000 x 4.  They’d probably fill up the playroom with more toys. 

$86,500

One nice thing I’d like to do for myself is put a small building in the back yard for all of my crafts, and supplies.  I’d love to have a photography studio, and a place to sew.  Maybe a little cottage=style building like I had seen on Pinterest last week.  That would just make my world …better than it already is of course! 🙂  $20,000

$66,500

The last things that I could possibly want to spend the money on are a few more tattoos for both my husband and I.  We are overdue and have lots of canvas left to cover.  😉 $10,000 including tips.

$56,500

Wow, it really is hard to spend $1,000,000 in ONE SINGLE DAY.  I’m having a hard time coming up with more things to splurge on.  I’d buy everyone I know gifts.  Upcoming birthdays, Christmas, weddings, anniversaries, and for any other occasion.  $10,000.  I’d have to rent out a storage unit, paid upfront for a year while I wait to disperse these gifts.  $500.

$46,000

Lastly, I’d buy every tool known to be needed by a crafty DIY-er, that I don’t already own.  I’m thinking Dremel tools, a hole drilling set, Michael’s shopping spree (because I need everything in that store), a peg board to organize, etc.  YES that is what I would do.  I’d probably still have leftover money.  Let’s guesstimate it to cost $35,000 to stock up my newly build crafting cottage in the back yard.

$11,000

Phew!  Still some left over and I’m running out of needs.  Let’s give it away!  At the end of my day of being a millionaire, I think it would be fun to go out for a night on the town and start handing $100 bills to random strangers.  Maybe they will pay it forward!  One could only hope so.

Well, that was quite an exhausting day!  Until next tomorrow, happy NaBloPoMo!

Leave a Reply

