Happy Halloween 2013 + Mystery Project Sneak-Peek

Happy Halloween everyone!
I used to get super excited about Halloween when I was a little kid.  Nearly as excited as I would for Christmas!  Halloween meant a break from the routine.  We had a party at school, went home in good spirits, and had more fun to look forward to that evening.   

I never had a real creative costume growing up.  Not like my kids do these days.  The best creative costume I came up with for Halloween was the “All-American Roller Skate Girls” idea, with my friend Amanda.  We both wore red, white and blue outfits, which consisted of shorts, a long sleeve shirt, and for me I chose another t-shirt to wear over.  (My mom was always afraid we would get sick on Halloween.) Best part: skates included.  I got to skate to school guys!  For real!  Even inside the school, when everyone came back in costume, we had our skates on.  It was hard to get up the steps, but we did it!  We skated in the parade too.  For elementary school, it was an epic Halloween.   


Where we live now, there are no parades.  No costumes.   At least they didn’t take away the parties.  Surprising huh?  Or maybe I’ve just been out of the loop for the last 3 years we have lived here.  I don’t know the reason why.  Safety maybe?  Maybe it’s too difficult to manage a room full of students in costumes all day?  They probably would fidget constantly, either out of discomfort or they’d be too excited for the festivities later on.  Whatever the reason, it’s probably a good thing because some of these cheap costumes bought in stores tend to unravel, rip, tear, and whatever else fabric does to come apart at the seams.  And sometimes not at the seams.  For this sewing newbie, it makes for a difficult repair.

On to other notes of interest… 

At the beginning of the week, I posted here about my excitement for a mystery project that I’m working on.  Here’s a sneak peek:
IMG_8026   IMG_8024IMG_8027
 
Don’t forget to come back on Friday to see the final project!

Leave a Reply

