Watermelon Mojitos & Pesto Cream Cheese Spread

This post has been waiting forEVER to be published. Why not play catch-up on a quiet Sunday night?

Mmm…delicious mojitos.  The last time I had the pleasure of drinking the most spectacular mojito was in South Beach Miami.  I can’t express in words how excited I got over these mojitos.  Frozen watermelon…a heavy-handed splash of rum…chopped mint leaves…those South Beach mojitos have nothing on these. 
Watermelon mojito

 
Basil                                                     Pesto Cheese Dip
This probably doesn’t pair well with those delicious watermelon mojitos, but pesto is always good.  A friend of mine shared this pesto cream cheese spread with me last year; is so amazing and incredibly simple.  First, you need to make the pesto (or buy it, I won’t tell).  Use your recipe, or you can use mine.  I take 8 ounces (1 pkg) of cream cheese, and add about 1 1/2 – 2 tbsp. (I hand-picked these from the basil plants in my own garden – whoohoo!)  

Depending on how strongly you want the spread to taste, put as much or as little as you want.  You can throw this in your mixer, or mix by hand, but mix it completely.  Take out some crackers, or baguettes, or pita chips.  I sliced up some French bread to serve.  Plate it and enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

