Dijon Pork Chops and Zucchini Bread

Honey, what’s for dinner!?

Dijon Pork Chops: from “Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes”

1 10 3/4 oz can condensed cream of mushroom soup
1/4 c. dry white wine or chicken broth
1/4 c. Dijon-style mustard
1 tsp dried thyme crushed
1 clove garlic minced
1/4 tsp pepper
5 medium potatoes cut into 1/4” slices
1 medium onion sliced
4 pork loin chops 3/4” thick

Combine soup, wine or broth, mustard, thyme, garlic, and pepper.  Add potatoes and onions, coating them in mixture.  Transfer to crock pot, and place pork chops on top of potatoes.

The version I made was slightly different, because I refuse to drive to the store for one or two ingredients.  There’s most always a substitute.  For example, I used a can of condensed cream of celery, Dijon-style mustard with Chardonnay, and I added quite a few cloves of garlic.  LOVE garlic.  And I also used 1” thick pork loin.

The flavor of this is not heavily pronounced.  It’s subtle and filling.  I can’t say what it would taste like had I just taken my stubborn butt to the store for the exact ingredients.  The pork chop practically fell apart on my plate, it was so tender.  And the potatoes were great.  I added this to my recipe book so it’s officially a keeper.

For dessert, I made zucchini bread.  The recipe I have will actually make two loaves. 

Zucchini Bread: unsure of origin, I wrote it down on a piece of notebook paper

3 eggs
1 c. oil
2 c. sugar
2 c. peeled and grated zucchini (about 2 medium-sized)
3 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon
*1/2 c. nuts
3 c. flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder

*I omit nuts
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Combine eggs, oil, sugar, zucchini.  Sift together flour, soda, salt, cinnamon, and powder.  Add zucchini mixture.  Stir in vanilla and *nuts.  Add to greased loaf pans.  (I poured a little more in one pan because I wanted the one I was going to freeze to be thicker.)  Bake for 1 hour.  May need 15 minutes or more, depending on thickness.  Cool completely before serving.

You don’t usually think of zucchini in a baked dish.  I was just a little girl when I first tried this, and I too turned my nose up at the thought.  A few years ago I found this recipe (finally), and I find myself still trying to convince people that it’s actually sweet and delicious!  It’s quite hilarious, the looks I get when I tell them what it is.  I’ve taken it to office eat-ins and the like, and people will not touch it.  Let me just tell you, this bread is SO delicious.  My kids love it, Big D loves it, and it’s so good with all natural honey.  People don’t know what they are missing out on.

Banana Bread2

TRY the recipe!  You will discover the amazing-ness of zucchini!

 Banana Bread1 Banana Bread3

2 thoughts on “Dijon Pork Chops and Zucchini Bread

Leave a Reply

