Gym Progress + A Fun Twist on Chicken Burgers


One fact about the gym is that everyone is watching.  You’re either trying to get tips for your next workout, cringing as someone lacks form, or appreciating someone’s physique.  In equally distributed amounts, I’m guilty of all three.  I have no problem learning from others mistakes, appreciating what they know, and admiring their progress.  Every once in a while though, it’s best to take a look at the mirror and appreciate my own efforts. 

I don’t even want to move right now, let alone stand in front of a mirror.  I think I killed it at the gym, and by “it” I mean all of the energy I woke up with.  I could literally lay on the couch for the rest of the day.  I think I could have become one with my cool wood floor, and we could have had a totally platonic thing going for a solid hour or two.  I felt so sick, I didn’t even want to make lunch.  Too much lactic acid build-up (definition and purpose/cause).  

I would say it was a great workout, even with the gym being twice as busy as last time.  As I was running on the treadmill, there was this guy doing some acrobatics in the gym and I had to do a double take.  He was doing a pull-up, then swung his feet up in the air (he was upside down) and was working his entire body by doing his hip flexor/ab workout that way.  Good on him.  I probably would have fallen down and given myself a concussion.
 
Anyway, the best thing to do after a rigorous workout is to put something good back into your body.  What you put in is what you get out, remember?  I made these cute little chicken burgers for the girls and myself.  I put a little twist on them though…of course mine touch on a few colors of the vegetable rainbow, while the girls’ burgers were simple.  And so the girls couldn’t say that I forgot the fries, I baked some carefully chosen waffle fries. 

First step is to cut up all of the toppings.  For mine, I made combinations of strawberries, cucumbers, tomatoes, and basil.   Before I even put them together, I soaked the strawberries and tomatoes in balsamic vinegar.  Sounds totally weird and maybe a little gross but it makes the sweetness of the strawberry pop!  So good.
IMG_4624IMG_4623    
The assembly, as you can see, is not hard.  I used toothpicks since I cut everything so small.  You just set your chicken burger on top of a large waffle fry, and top it as you like.  This is quite a healthy take on burgers, if you leave off the condiments like mayo and ketchup. 

Hope you enjoy them like I did!

Leave a Reply

