Chocolate Coconut Pie

 Who loves Mounds or Almond Joy candy bars?  This pie should be dubbed “Almond Joy Pie” or “Mounds Pie”  (it has a ring to it)  Seriously, this pie was amazing.  I’m not a huge coconut fan like my husband, but I couldn’t put my fork down unless it was coming back up with another bite.
IMG_4297
I was hoping to get a picture of the pie intact, but obviously it was in danger of being dug into as it cooled in the fridge.  Oh well, this is a much better picture because you can see the layers of chocolate and coconut.  Mine is a little thick, even after stamping it down into the pan, so next time I will probably use less coconut flakes (or actually process the flakes!)

Technorati Tags:

to make it a thinner crust.
I originally put this recipe in “My Sweet Tooth” arsenal on Pinterest but after seeing that I didn’t have one of the ingredients listed, I decided to add a little twist.  (so maybe I should rename it)  My secret is coconut milk.  I decided to use this to melt the chocolate instead of the heavy whipping cream and it turned out perfectly, if not better.  I would also probably add in some toasted almonds…oh that sounds so good!
I was in such a hurry to get this recipe up, that I decided not to make a perfected pie and instead just tell you where I would make changes.  For now, here are the directions with amendments:
For the crust

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 bag (about 14 oz) of shredded coconut

For the filling

  • 1 cup heavy cream coconut milk
  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a food processor, pulse about 1/3 of the coconut and butter together until well combined, 1-2 minutes. I did not process the coconut, this could have been my problem.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the coconut-butter mixture with the rest of the coconut and stir well until mixture is cohesive.
  4. Press the coconut into a 9″ pie plate so that it forms a crust and bake for 10-15 minutes.  If the edges start to brown too much, cover them with some tin foil.
  5. Once golden brown, move the crust to a wire cooling rack and let it cool completely before filling with the chocolate (this will allow the crust to crisp up first).
  6. While the crust is cooling, bring the heavy cream coconut milk to boil in a small saucepan.
  7. Put the chopped chocolate into a medium bowl and pour the boiling cream over it.  Let it sit for a few minutes then whisk until it is smooth and no streaks of cream remain.
  8. Pour the chocolate into the tart shell and let it cool before moving it to the refrigerator to set completely for another hour or so.  Forks up!

(This recipe was from A Gilt Nutmeg, who adapted it from Martha Stewart’s New Pies and Tarts )

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Pie

Leave a Reply

