Hiking the Appalachian?

I remember the first time I ever tried to hike.  My husband and I were up in Massachusetts for a mini vacation.  I was about 7 months pregnant and we attempted a trail at this national park.  What was I thinking?! The only thing I acquired from this experience is a desire to go hiking once I am physically able.  Trying to go while pregnant was not such a smart thing to do.  Good thing we didn’t get very far…

Just recently, a group of friends and my husband and I have suggested and agreed that we need to pull off a hiking trip.  I am super excited because this is the next type of thing I want to do with my husband without the kids.  Doing it with friends will be a bonus. 🙂

What do I know about hiking? Nothing. 

I have my fair share of research to complete.  I haven’t gone far enough into the wilderness to be too concerned with a backpack, preparation tools, food, gear, attire, etc.  So what will I need exactly?  Let’s see… what would be important for me is toilet paper, high-energy snacks, bug spray, sun block, lip balm, camelbak for water, and comfortable shoes.  I think that is a decent low-maintenance list of items to pack.  I think my husband and his friends have a good hand at navigation so I can leave that to them.  I hope.  The ladies that come along will be in decent shape too so this should be easy peasy.

Since I don’t know much about the Appalachian Trail or AT as it’s nicknamed, I decided to buy a book on my Kindle called “AWOL On The Appalachian Trail”.  This guy left civilization to hit the trails and travel up the Appalachian and he wrote about his entire experience.  I started to read the first page and thought “Yup, this is the book for me.  I’m going to learn what I need to learn about the AT.”

There is also a guide book that I found on-line called The AT Guide that I’d love to browse through.  I don’t know if that would make me a complete nerd, to have that guide book in my back pack.  it’s like a piece of gear, and I always told myself that no matter what I try, I won’t buy the equipment without trying the activity a few times.  (Snowboarding, baking, etc) Maybe as the time gets closer to planning for the hiking trip, I may. 🙂

So stay tuned!  I have lots to research and I am going to start training for a major hiking trip as well as a couple of 5Ks I have coming up.
 

Leave a Reply

