Lime Cupcakes With Sour Cream Lime Frosting


Pass the lime

I had some extra limes in the refrigerator and I thought “Why not?”  I whipped up a perfect batch of these babies, to perfection, and then shared them with my leprechaun neighbor…

I joke because these were definitely far from perfect.  It was my first time and it didn’t hurt to try the recipe.  If you’re looking to live vicariously through me and avoid my mistakes, keep reading…

The lime cupcake recipe is from Bon Appetit:


Fresh out of the oven

Ingredients

CUPCAKES

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup self-rising flour
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lime peel
  • 1/4 teaspoon neon-green food coloring
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

FROSTING

  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lime peel
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract



Cute cupcake liners I just had to have



So a few of my mistakes were made on purpose. 

I didn’t have the self-rising flour, and I didn’t just want to use all-purpose flour, I thought “Why not just use cake flour?  (What is self-rising flour? Here’s a brief description)  Because I used all cake flour, my cupcakes were really dense.  Moist, but dense with very little rise.

Another thing that went haywire was the sour cream frosting.  I decided not to use cream cheese, because I was craving the sour cream frosting I made this past December.  I did add the right amount of lime zest and sugar and butter.  But I don’t know where it went wrong.  I’ve made it before and it set up really nicely.  But this batch I couldn’t even fill the icing bag half way before it started running out of the tip.  Needless to say it was more of a glaze.  😦



My poor frosting





See the lime zest?




All in all, the cupcakes were a 7.  The flavor was good, the cupcakes were moist, and the icing was not overpowering with lime.  If I were to make this again, and I will, I plan on using all of the ingredients.  They are not suggestions, after all.

Leave a Reply

