Guinness Chocolate Cupcakes With Whipped Peanut Butter Frosting


Hello Guinness… meet chocolate cupcake batter… and the rest was delicious history.

You’ve never had a Guinness cupcake?  Fear not my friend, for I will show you the way.  I actually got this recipe from a good friend who has forever changed my opinion about Guinness beer. (Thanks Michelle!)

I wanted my best friend’s birthday celebration to be amazing so I got this idea to bake homemade cupcakes for her.  She’s not a huge Guinness fan, but I knew that she would love these cupcakes when she tasted them.  Especially the whipped peanut butter frosting… I am just drooling on my keyboard thinking about the first time I ever tasted one of these.  (I can’t even believe that I have three leftover cupcakes sitting all alone in my refrigerator right this very moment!)

Since I’m such a kind person (and because I asked for permission) I’m going to share this recipe with you all.

http://simplydconstructed.blogspot.com/2012/03/guinness-chocolate-cupcakes-with.html
Recipe:
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa, plus more for dusting finished cupcakes
2 cups sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch fine salt
1 bottle Guinness
1 stick butter, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3 large eggs
3/4 cup sour cream
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened at room temperature (mix with sour cream)
   (I actually did not get the instructions for the cream cheese before hand, so this batch went        
   without.  The purpose of the cream cheese is to make it even more moist, so pay attention to  
   the details 🙂

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the cocoa, sugar, flour, baking soda, and salt.
In another medium mixing bowl, combine the stout, melted butter, and vanilla. Beat in eggs, 1 at time. Mix in sour cream until thoroughly combined and smooth. Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet mixture.
Lightly grease 24 muffin tins. Divide the batter equally between muffin tins, filling each 3/4 full. Bake for about 12 minutes and then rotate the pans. Bake another 12 to 13 minutes until risen, nicely domed, and set in the middle but still soft and tender. Cool before turning out.

Icing is just peanut butter, melted butter and confectioners sugar.  (I’m including the link for the whipped peanut butter frosting recipe that I used, for those like me who need exact measurements every once in a while =)

The most important thing is the Guinness.  This part makes me happy.  This is the one recipe that you can happily make on your own, because do the math: You only need to dedicate one of the 6 bottles to your recipe.  The rest are for you to enjoy while you bake.  Perfect baking harmony.

http://simplydconstructed.blogspot.com/2012/03/guinness-chocolate-cupcakes-with.htmlNow you can choose any kind of adornments or leave the frosting as is.  Since it was for a birthday, I chose to dress it up a bit.  I added the hand-scripted chocolate hearts (made from Wilton’s melting chocolate) and some vanilla wafer rolls split in two for “straws”.  I thought it looked so darn cute dressed up like this.  Forget the candles!
I linked up here:

Bloody Marys Count as a Salad

Leave a Reply

