Back To School I Go

Book rentals, pens, dinner, pencils, T-83 calculator, diapers, back pack, filler paper, wipes, babysitterOh my!  School is a much bigger deal when you throw a family into the mix. 

I am really happy that I made the decision to go back to school.  I knew that going into it, things would be a teensy bit rough for the family financially, since it takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r for my GI bill to kick in.  BUT staying home a year and a half with the girls and not really doing anything with my life, it was a better option in my opinion.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love my girls and I love that I got to spend all this time with them, especially Addie.  I didn’t have the opportunity to stay home with Mckensi or Sydney so it was nice to be able to this time around.  Anyway, my point is that it was time to get out of the house regardless of how awesome my time has been with the girls.

If you were to ask me “What is the hardest thing about going back to school now?” I would have to say that it’s definitely different for everyone.  Having kids and going back is a big challenge, especially when one of the three is school-aged and my school is an hour away.  I have three different babysitters, one that comes to the house for Mckensi after-school and the other two are near the school!!!  Childcare fees are inevitable no matter what you want to do…

I love going to school thus far.  It’s been a month to date, and I’m fairly happy with my grades, work load, and study habits; my three main concerns.  The last time I went to school was 11 years ago!  (Wow… I really feel old.)  The troublesome thing about all that time passing is that I can totally tell my brain has gotten rusty.  Especially with algebra… was never my strongest point.  Okay, let’s face it I am horrible at math.  I’ve come to realize that practicing and repetitive study is going to be my ticket to the best grade in Algebra.  Maybe I will make a record for myself? Hee hee, we can only hope.

Here’s a list of a couple of items of interest that I had to deal with.  A sort of “Mistakes I Made” list for all to see and to avoid

  1. If you are getting any kind of money for school, for example a grant, the GI Bill, don’t count on it to come in on time. 
  2. To add on to number one, save up some money to handle expenses such as books, supplies, maybe a few new outfits :-).  This is especially true if you have kids who also are going to be starting the school year, because they need new clothes and supplies too
  3. For parents, be sure to iron out all the details for childcare way in advance.  I started school in mid-August, so I began looking for my sitters in mid-July.  That was not enough time at all.
  4. Don’t be afraid to make a couple of friends in each class. I did!
  5. Just because you are old, doesn’t mean that other people will think so or even see it. (Some kid told me I looked his age, which is 17!)
  6. Remember that if you’re starting over as a freshman, you are in your classes with freshman.  That means your classmates probably just graduated highschool and are still immature, rude, and don’t have priorities in line.
  7. Last of all, have fun!  It’s a challenge but it’s good for you.

So bring on the rest of Fall Semester!!!

Leave a Reply

